1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Evil Expensive Dialers

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by MartinImber, Jul 30, 2004.

  1. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    A dialer tried to install itself

    CARIMA

    Google produces this!

    CARIMA ENTERPRISES
    45 Welbeck Street
    London, UK W1G 8DZ
    GB

    Zonealarm alllowed the popup

    I get two or three a week now threatening our PC.

    Shall I say Alquida are based there?
     
  2. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,518
    defintely worth sorting them out!
     
  3. Mark Grant

    Mark Grant
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    East Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +171
    Has anyone notice a domain:

    AVSFORUMS.COM

    Has some nasty premium rate dialler popups :(

    wonder how many AV enthusiasts been caught with that one,
    a combination of the UK and USA forums URL

    Be careful if you go there !



    Domain Name: AVSFORUMS.COM

    Administrative Contact:
    Administrator, Domain (NIC-7141) artaxxa@yahoo.com
    Web Domain Names
    777 Mo Xue Fang Road
    Shanghai
    PR, CN
    435002





    Mark.
     
  4. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    could this be something sitting in your computer??
    I used to have all manner of dailers and spy software on my PC.
    I use Zonealarm Pro
    AVG antivirus
    and BoClean

    But one of the best things I have on my PC id ADAWARE by Lavasoft.
    Download it, do an update then run it on your PC...You will be amazed at the garbage it finds...loads of little nasties..

    Good luck.

    C
     
  5. SeaneyC

    SeaneyC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +54
    Also recommend spybot S&D, often finds stuff ADAWARE sometimes misses out, and vice versa.

    On a side note:

    I'm actually more amazed how so many people end up with so much rubbish on their PC, i used to be constantly de-virussing and sorting out my mates PCs, but now i've actually removed their virus checkers, put in a decent hardware router with firewall, installed mozilla firefox, and advised them on how viruses are commonly spread etc.. and they haven't had a problem since. Plus i told them where to get good adult material, which probably helped :D
     
  6. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,518
    most of the adware and spy crap comes from accessing "adult" websites!
     
  7. Orbitalzone

    Orbitalzone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    394
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    E.Sussex
    Ratings:
    +43
    Also, turn OFF system restore before scanning... as these trojans and such like can hide safely in the system restore backup data.... when scanned, they appaer to be deleted but reboot the PC and they're back... so turn OFF system restore, scan, clear nasties and turn System restore On again
     
  8. SeaneyC

    SeaneyC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +54
    I didn't want to imply anything about the original poster :D

    And good tip OrbitalZone, i always forget to remind people about that as i have it off by default.
     
  9. Tesla

    Tesla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    936
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    Best thing would be to unplug your dial-up modem when not accessing the net.
     
  10. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +118
    use broadband is a easy solution...though I also use a hardware/software firewall and firefox :)
     
  11. lothburn

    lothburn
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi

    Get Spy Bot Seach & Destroy.
    this little proggy is a must have... plain and simple.

    Get into a routine and run evey night after surfing.
     
  12. Gazebo2

    Gazebo2
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have recently been infected with a "virus" -probably the wrong technical term - which when visiting perfectly respectable sites pops up a non-closable window asking me to install a dialer calling a premium rate line at £1.50 minute.

    Spy-Bot, adware and my virus checker noted nothing, so a quick google on the name of the dialer led me to recommendations to download the excellent HijackThis utility which enabled me to remove modifications to IE that had performed since the original install.

    Its not documented, so if you are not technically inclined, you can post the output log on a forum for help.
     
  13. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,444
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,745
    My mate reckons that the dialer he keeps getting (he gets rid of it for a few days) is coinciding with his kids going to cheatplanet so they can get latest cheats for the playstation 2. It also puts a couple of "teen porn" icons on the desktop. Has anyone else heard of this, as I'd be amazed if it was coming from a site aimed at kids.
     
  14. GJC

    GJC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +65
    I use gamefaqs.com for cheats/walkthroughs, no pop-ups or probs with diallers etc.

    G.
     
  15. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,518
    why don't you go to "cheap planet" and see if you get any pop-ups or spam etc.
     
  16. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,444
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,745
    According to this BBC news item, BT are stamping down on these premium rate numbers
     

Share This Page

Loading...