EUTELSTAT 5W - problems with reception

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by PaulQQQ, Jul 14, 2018.

  1. PaulQQQ

    PaulQQQ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, Berks
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm writing to find out if anyone who uses Eutelstat 5W has reception problems with it.

    I've rigged a pole in my back garden and have attached various dishes to it. However for Eutelstat 5w I can sometimes get a signal and other times nothing and I'm wondering why? Has anyone else encountered this?

    It seems to be a difficult satellite to tune to, compared with say Hotbird. Even when I've aligned the dish for it to work, if you as much as breath near it then the reception goes and frequently can't be re-found.

    It might be that my dish is a little low, or my pole is flexing a bit - it's an old long aerial pole but I'm just interest to see if anybody has similar experiences. No probem with 28.2w, Astra 1 19W, Hotbird 13w or 9W - just this one and all the time.

    Many thanks
    Paul
     
  2. 1080 jawbreaker

    1080 jawbreaker
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +908
    5w should be booming in
     
  3. Dbcoup

    Dbcoup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    4,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Here,There,Everywhere
    Ratings:
    +881
    Are you 100% sure the pole is plum? 5W is very easy.
     
  4. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,085
    TREE ?
     
  5. Fred Smith

    Fred Smith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,366
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +435
    You do realise they are all east?
     
  6. PaulQQQ

    PaulQQQ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, Berks
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks everyone - I think I've traced the problem to a dodgy cable on that particular satellite, so (hopefully ) have solved the problem. It's a dish I haven't used much before so I wasn't quite sure where the problem lay.
     
  7. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,831
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,141
    You have a cable to the satellite?:cool: How much does that cost.:eek:
     
  8. PaulQQQ

    PaulQQQ
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Reading, Berks
    Ratings:
    +3
    Infinite - that's probably where the problem started! Good job the satellite is geostationary, though I've been told to disconnect it once the satellite runs out of fuel and the orbit decays, to avoid getting the earth all tangled up!
     

Share This Page

Loading...