1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Euro1080 receivers have arrived

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by digitalsafari, May 27, 2004.

  1. digitalsafari

    digitalsafari
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +101
    First batch arrived today.

    I am setting up a box now. good news has VGA out, bad news the DVI is 720P only.

    Jonathan
     
  2. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,760
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    Excuse my ignorance but does having VGA out mean that I can hook it up to my Barco 808s without having to buy a transcoder?

    thanks
    Darren
     
  3. digitalsafari

    digitalsafari
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +101
    Rigman,

    Yes, as long as your Barco supports one of the output modes, which are:
    1080i-50
    720p-50
    576p-50
    576i-50 (PAL)

    Jonathan
     
  4. Hellicopter

    Hellicopter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Re 720p DVI output, is this surprising given that the box is supposedly designed for the Euro 1080i output?
    Does this mean that via the DVI input, my Sagem DLP TV will scale up the output to 1080i or show it at 720p?
    If so what are the consequences?
    Thanks in advance for your response.
     
  5. digitalsafari

    digitalsafari
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +101
    The box appears to offer a 1920x540 50Hz mode via DVI, and remember the box can be upgraded over the air.

    No real problem with your Sagem, which is most likely to be 1280x720 native res.

    BTW - I am off to do some HD work in the USA and won't be back until Wednesday 9th June.

    Jonathan
     
  6. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,760
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    Thanks Jonathon my Barco should do all of those resolutions. What sort of socket is it? Is it a 15 pin D socket as per a PC graphics card?

    I was reluctant to buy a receiver as I thought it would only output HD via HD component outputs which would have meant an extra £250 on top for either a transcoder or a add on board for the Barco to cope with Tri-level sync signal that you get from component outputs. If it will work without it then that does not make it prohibitively expensive for me. When will you be getting your next batch in stock?

    thanks
    Darren
     
  7. digitalsafari

    digitalsafari
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +101
    Here's a pic of the back panel.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,760
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    Thanks Jonathon

    will you be doing any more power buys? If so when do you expect the next batch to come in?

    thanks
    Darren
     
  9. digitalsafari

    digitalsafari
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +101
    Darren,

    I am waiting to see what the price does with the next batch before considering a Powerbuy.

    No firm dates for next batch yet, but I will chase this when I am back from the Texas on the 9th.
     
  10. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
  11. rigman

    rigman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,760
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    Thanks Jonathon,

    has anyone actually received one of these yet? What is it like in general?. I assume that Euro 1080 looks excellent but what is it like for SD satellite? How do the menus and searching functions compared with the likes of normal multi sat receivers such as the Echostars etc?

    thanks
    Darren
     
  12. Hellicopter

    Hellicopter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I understand that Eurosat now have them in stock am not sure how many.
     

Share This Page

Loading...