Ethernet Cables

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by Stanulg, Jul 19, 2018.

  1. Stanulg

    Stanulg
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everybody :
    I'm looking at a couple of Samsung Smart TV at Best Buy. Both of them have an Ethernet Port. Great ! But......the MODEM is in my bedroom. And the TV would be in the living room. That's.....aapproximately.....20-30 feet. Would I need any "add-ons" so as to have any signal loss ? I've heard that extra length on an Ethernet cable can weaken the signal between the MODEM and (in this case) the TV. Advice ?
    Stanulg
     
  2. simonlewis

    simonlewis
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    4,705
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    stockport
    Ratings:
    +1,757
    Won't the new samsung tv have wifi ?
     
  3. zeppelino

    zeppelino
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2018
    Messages:
    3,935
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    134
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,210
    WiFi or use power line adapters with Ethernet sockets.
     
  4. Stanulg

    Stanulg
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    zeppelino :
    Thanks for your reply. Yes....it does have WIFI. But, sometimes, I've noticed that the internet connection with WIFI can get sketchy. The TV in my bedroom has WIFI, but it seems to be a little slow. After it connects, it's okay. Stanulg
     
  5. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    27,286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +11,901
    Standard Ethernet cables are good for links up to 100 metres, in the case of Cat5e Gigabit for 100 metres.
     
  6. MacrosTheBlack

    MacrosTheBlack
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,921
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Kent (South East, UK)
    Ratings:
    +558
    As already said, no problem for that kind of distance. Also don't buy your ethernet cables from Best Buy, they charge a huge premium. Go to ebay and take your pick of colours and lengths.

    Hopefully you have a combined modem/router from your internet provider? Most will have a bank of 4 ethernet ports for hardwiring internet connected devices.
     

Share This Page

Loading...