1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ethernet Cable

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by -Jay-, Nov 27, 2002.

  1. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    doe`s anyone know if you can buy these cables.as i need a long one to run from my bedroom to my modem in the living room.so i can play xbox live. so if you can buy them where from.
     
  2. lechacal

    lechacal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +66
    Most places like Dixons and PC World will sell short patch cables, but these are probably not going to be much good to you.
    I found Maplin sold 12 meter lengths bagged up and got one there (make sure you get the straight-through, not the crossover). If they don't sell any that are long enough for you you can buy a run as long as you want off a drum but you will have to fit your own plugs to it. To do this you'll need to buy the tools, which works out expensive for a one-off.
     
  3. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    thanks for that i`ve looked on maplins at patch cables.but there is loads & i`m new to all this so i don`t know whats what.
     
  4. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +18
    How long do you want as i have a few at home brand new and sealed
     
  5. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +313
    City Electrical make um any size you require and they are pretty cheap too ;)
     
  6. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    Maplin will make some up for you as well, they crimp em if you ask nicely :p

    You are looking for CAT5 or CAT5e (preferably shielded) should be about 50-60p a meter.
     
  7. lechacal

    lechacal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +66
    The staff at your Maplin are nicer than mine. They just said "Don't make cables. Sell 'em."
    I haven't looked at their website so I don't know what they sell on there. But patch cables are usually short things that connect two devices that are close together, like if you've got your hub sitting on top of your processor box or something.
     
  8. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    hi guys so let me get this right the cable i need is called patch cable not e/net cable.i will be connecting it to my xbox & then to the modem & when i want to use the pc i will unplug the xbox cable from the modem & put the pc cable back in.

    theborg i need 12m or above
     
  9. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,107
    If you are unsure liverpool, go to a local PC store (have a look in Yellow pages or something, do not go to PC World) and explain to them what you want. They will usually have a resident techie who will make up the cable you need.

    Basically, you need 12m of CAT5 straight cable with RJ45 connectors.
     
  10. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +18
    Sorry had a look last night and longest i got is 5 meters but if you wan't i can speak to my old boss who i could get from at trade price.
    I'll call him later and let you know, if nothing else it will give you rough price.
     
  11. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    that would be great if you could get the price of the cable sinzer said cheers.
     
  12. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +18
    Ok i'll let you know before lunch
    P.S. come on the reds YNWA
     
  13. RichB14

    RichB14
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    764
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +18
    Just spoke to them, they will only sell in large amounts, but i had a quick look on ebay and you can get 10m for about a fiver.
     
  14. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    cheers mate i`ll have a look :D
     
  15. cleggy

    cleggy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are ethernet cables okay for outside use??

    My Xbox will be in front room, cable modem at back of house, laminate flooring down so no carpets to run it under and 2 interior doors to negotiate so I think cabling inside is going to be a serious problem.

    Could I put router next to cable modem then run ethernet cable from router back round house then in at front to XBox?
     
  16. DVDcake

    DVDcake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Invading Surrey UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    Any PVC cables can be used outside as long as they are are in a position where they are unlikely to get damaged by another object, be exposed to chemical attack or pass near a source of interferrence. They should be fixed to a surface though as long spans between buildings without an additional supporting wire will cause them to stretch under their own weight. If adequate protection against impact is needed you should investigate using steel conduit and running the cable inside that.
     
  17. cleggy

    cleggy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for the info, I've since seen a Ethernet Wireless adaptor so I might get a wireless router and go that way. Need to do some sort of hassle/cost analysis first though. Not getting Xbox Live until Xmas so time to think it through.

    Thanks again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...