1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Error 21 ???

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by Rad, May 18, 2004.

  1. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Anyone know what this error is, I'm getting it on my optical link with sky+

    Cheers,
    Rich.
     
  2. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Error 21 means that it couldn't boot the SHARC from the SPDIF derived clocks which is kinda bad news as there should always be something even when there is no input (receiver idles at 11kHz).

    Have a word with Barry and Mark on the IAG helpdesk as it sounds like it may need to take a little holiday to Huntingdon.
     
  3. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hiya,

    Thanks for the reply, I've been told to reset the eeprom by doing a reset of the system.

    I was wondering if maybe my optical cable had kinked or something as I was mucking about at the back trying to get the serial number to get the PLII upgrade.

    Rich.
     
  4. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi,

    It's feasible that if the optical cable has gone dodgy the resulting derived clocks are stuffed up enough that it's causing the DSP to fail it's boot-up tests. Be worth try plugging into the other optical input and also checking the AV will work at 48Khz via a coaxial feed when not sync-linked.

    I'd be amazed if the three fingered salute makes any difference as there is nothing stored in the eeprom that will affect this startup stage of the DSP. At most if it does do something it will be because you're now on different settings than before and it's just masked the fault (timings of events have slightly changed etc), not cured it. Then again a good ol' fashioned eeprom reset never did any harm so what the hell! :devil:
     
  5. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cheers loon,

    Fingers crossed.

    Rich.
     
  6. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Well it looks like it's on it's way to a little holiday in Huntingdon.

    Hope it's not too expensive a trip.

    Bugger.

    Rich
     
  7. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm no expert but I think it might be the Sharc chip that has gone on it.

    Has anyone ever had that repaired before ?, just trying to get an idea of cost so I can work out how much o/t to do this month.

    Rich.
     
  8. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi Rad,

    Can you get any audio through the thing, for example on analog inputs. If so then the SHARC is alive and kicking. If the DSP was dead then I would expect an error 5 (failed to boot).
     
  9. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    It does work, then all of a sudden for no good reason it seems to jump from DD to prologic and from 48Khz to nothing, then it goes dead with nothing, then it jumps back in, it does this a few times then dies with error 21 or error 20.

    I thought it might have been a connection problem but it does it with all the different digital inputs, I haven't tried the analog ones.

    Does anyone actually know what error 21 and error 20 are ??

    Cheers,
    Rich.
     
  10. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Smells like something around the PLL area has gone dodgy which in turn is knackering the word clock.

    Error 20 - failed on DSP module start tests using VCXO (internal clocks)
    Error 21 - failed on DSP module start tests using SPDIF (external derived clocks)

    I'm sure TMA/IAG service will soon diagnose it and will give you a quote to fix it.
     
  11. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hello,

    Yes it's booked in for a return.

    I was wondering if a dodgy toslink cable could knacker this for all digital links.
    I may try the big reset and not plug in the toslink just the spdif from the DVD player and see if it stays ok as it did work for a while and I then plugged the toslink back in which didn't work and then knackered the DVD.

    Only thing is I've blown 2 fuses on my 5 channel power amp already which is a bit worrying.

    Rich
     
  12. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hello,

    Can anyone recommend a decent company to return it with.

    Cheers,
    Rich
     
  13. Teejoo

    Teejoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    I always use DHL when transporting audio to the factory for upgrades, and they handle it very well.
     
  14. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cheers for that,

    It's a bit of a lottery with some delivery agents.

    How heavy is the AV32r anyway??

    Rich.
     
  15. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Good question, the weight isn't listed anywhere on any documentation I could find.....If you have the original box and cardboard outer box, the weight is on the label stuck to it.....At a guess it about 12kg as I'm not about to crawl around in the loft at this time of night!
     
  16. Steve Monks

    Steve Monks
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi, according to the label on my box it's 10.5kg.

    I've just had my AV32R back to Tag/IAG for repair with a similar sounding fault, I used their Home Pickup service and took the opportunity to get the dacs upgraded at the same time. I got the unit back in just over a week which is pretty impressive really. Sounds better than ever too! :smashin:

    Hope that helps,
    cheers,
    Steve
     
  17. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Steve,

    I didn't know they did a home pickup service, how much was that.

    Also if you don't mind me asking how much did your repair and upgrade cost ?

    Cheers,
    Richard.
     
  18. ariecol

    ariecol
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    pick up cost std rate 49.99 door to door :beer:
     
  19. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Well the AV32r is sitting there with it's packed lunch and a change of clothes ready for it's trip south. I can see it coming back with a new pair of socks or an upgrade or 2 :)

    I was thinking of writing 'Danger explosives' on the top, I bet the couriers would be carefull with it then :devil:
     
  20. Steve Monks

    Steve Monks
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +2
    The DAC upgrade cost me £475 - more expensive because it's an EX (7.1) model, but they waived the £200 surcharge that would normally be applied due to the units age because it was already in for repair. The actual repair, which in my case was a replacement of the flash memory but could be something else for in your case, cost £160 including the collection and return.

    Your best bet is to talk to Barry on the helpdesk as he's extremely helpful and very knowledgable.

    Cheers,
    Steve
     
  21. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yeah I think I'll give them a call and get something sorted out.

    Cheers,
    Rich
     
  22. roversd1

    roversd1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    dont forget 'Mark' at the Helpdesk - (Hes the grumpy, helpfull knowledgable one)

    Home Pick-up service - £49.65 GBP to and from the factory.

    Repairs/ upgrades are an average 15 - 20 working days from arrival
     

Share This Page

Loading...