Epson LS10000 Laser projector

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by One more thing, Sep 5, 2014.


    1. bandyka

      bandyka
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 6, 2010
      Messages:
      3,242
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Sydney Australia
      Ratings:
      +1,107
      Well possibly but others report the same and the dealer was on the same opinion.
       
    2. bandyka

      bandyka
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 6, 2010
      Messages:
      3,242
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Sydney Australia
      Ratings:
      +1,107
      Well someone got lucky and picked up a great LS10K for cheap :)
       
    3. Ideal AV

      Ideal AV
      Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Jan 12, 2011
      Messages:
      11,150
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Normanton
      Ratings:
      +6,455
      anything can be set up wrong just as anything can be set up right, its just the latter can sometimes be a little more difficult ;)

      anyway i'm off to set up for yet another 9300 demo :clap:
       
    4. HAWK-EYE

      HAWK-EYE
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      May 13, 2006
      Messages:
      1,206
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      113
      Ratings:
      +528
      From the review...

      Motion fluidity comparison
      This is currently the only point where the Epson EH-TW9300 really suffers in comparison with the bigger brother Epson EH-LS10000. By nature, the transmissive LCD panels of the Epson EH-TW9300 are thicker and react slower than the reflective ones of the Epson EH-LS10000. But since the current Frame Interpolation of the Epson EH-TW9300 is kind of buggy, the Epson EH-LS10000 takes the lead very easily. A firmware update from Epson would be very welcome for the Epson EH-TW9300 (and TW7300) to solve the FI issue. Right now, the older Epson EH-TW9200 was performing much better in comparison.
       
    5. bandyka

      bandyka
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 6, 2010
      Messages:
      3,242
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Sydney Australia
      Ratings:
      +1,107
      Yep. Motion can't really be setup wrong or changed I am afraid. I also found the bigger brother to outperform it in every other area but that's just me:) It's natural to promote a new product but I am simply unbiased by nature :)
      I was there with my credit card ready this morning I wanted to buy it for a weekend full of fun but I backed off... I think I am too spoiled TBH.
       
    6. bandyka

      bandyka
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 6, 2010
      Messages:
      3,242
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Sydney Australia
      Ratings:
      +1,107
      PQ wise I am sure if I saw the way you set it up for a demo it would appear much more favorable.
       
    7. obi

      obi
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Nov 29, 2004
      Messages:
      279
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Ratings:
      +70
      Looking for some advice, if I feed the ls10k the Panasonic DMP UN900 what would the results be?
       
    8. Ideal AV

      Ideal AV
      Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Jan 12, 2011
      Messages:
      11,150
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Normanton
      Ratings:
      +6,455
      they'd be pretty good i'd say Gary

      if you wanted you could use an hd fury which would remove the HDR and leave you with BT2020 Wide Colour Gamut

      This should give you an improvement image quality wise i think you are seeking

      i understand this is how it works
       
      Last edited: Oct 1, 2016
    9. obi

      obi
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Nov 29, 2004
      Messages:
      279
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Ratings:
      +70
      Is the Fury simple to setup Alan?
       
    10. Ideal AV

      Ideal AV
      Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Jan 12, 2011
      Messages:
      11,150
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Normanton
      Ratings:
      +6,455
      hi Gary

      you need to download a utility programme via usb from the HD Fury website and install the software needed to strip out HDR and as far as I can see away you go
       
    11. bandyka

      bandyka
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 6, 2010
      Messages:
      3,242
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Sydney Australia
      Ratings:
      +1,107
      It's builtin to the Fury all you need is a smart phone to set the options its easy as. I am seriously tempted to get a 10K at a great price and use a Fury but I really should wait for the new model. I wish I was patient enough. Alan do you by any chance have any insider info on ETA?
       
    12. Ideal AV

      Ideal AV
      Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Jan 12, 2011
      Messages:
      11,150
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Normanton
      Ratings:
      +6,455
      it's totally unconfirmed but November has been mentioned ;)

      are you saying that ootb the integral needs no software installation at all?
       
    13. bandyka

      bandyka
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 6, 2010
      Messages:
      3,242
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Sydney Australia
      Ratings:
      +1,107
      ahh I was really I mean really hoping October:) Yep I used the Fury and all it needs is the app on your phone to control it via Bluetooth real simple stuff. You can also install it on your PC but that just makes it more complicated.

      I am more excited about this new Epson than the new Sony 4K I am considering to ditch native panels for this thing.
       
    14. flyinmunky1

      flyinmunky1
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 10, 2006
      Messages:
      368
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Ratings:
      +31

      I cant tell from the review if they just mean motion is better when both using FI or the LS10000 is actually better even with FI off due to the reflective panels.
       
    15. bandyka

      bandyka
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 6, 2010
      Messages:
      3,242
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Sydney Australia
      Ratings:
      +1,107
      Its better even with FI off. Saw it with my own eyes.
       
    16. obi

      obi
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Nov 29, 2004
      Messages:
      279
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Ratings:
      +70
      Well my Panasonic UHD player had just arrived, Alan you will have to tell which HD Fury I need to buy, looking to hook it up later this week.
       
    17. True Romance

      True Romance
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Feb 7, 2005
      Messages:
      6,983
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Wolverhampton
      Ratings:
      +3,039
      Linker will remove HDR.
       
    18. bandyka

      bandyka
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 6, 2010
      Messages:
      3,242
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Sydney Australia
      Ratings:
      +1,107
      or the Fury integral
       
    19. aliencinema

      aliencinema
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Dec 27, 2005
      Messages:
      1,129
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      86
      Location:
      Mars
      Ratings:
      +308
      Hi.

      Could someone tell me the throw distance to fill a 16.9 120" diagnal screen

      Thank you
       
    20. Ideal AV

      Ideal AV
      Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Jan 12, 2011
      Messages:
      11,150
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Normanton
      Ratings:
      +6,455
      here you go Martin and its anything from 11'2" - 23'10"

      Epson Projector Distance Calculator
       
    21. aliencinema

      aliencinema
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Dec 27, 2005
      Messages:
      1,129
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      86
      Location:
      Mars
      Ratings:
      +308
      Cheers Al
       
    22. Nodular

      Nodular
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Nov 28, 2008
      Messages:
      1,446
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      113
      Location:
      Manchester
      Ratings:
      +785
      Gordon Fraser of Convergent AV very kindly drove over to my house yesterday to get the very best out of my Lumagen Pro and LS 10000 setup.
      With new software that has been developed Gordon created a custom LUT and uploaded it to my Pro so that I benefit from HDR even though the LS 10000 isn't HDR.
      The software wasn't working correctly last time he came over as it was literally brand new and was leaving my image totally red.
      So with a few tweaks here and there from the developers and Gordon's expertise with all things video this time things were looking fantastic.

      My wife and I watched Oblivion UHD last night and I got my first real chance to see HDR plus the WCG.
      I was blown away at how good the image was looking.
      Close ups of Tom Cruise were revealing lots of light/dark contrast on his face plus the colours were fantastic as was the atmos track.
      The blu ray was always a reference disc and the UHD had some bashing before it was released here but on what I saw last night it looked brilliant.

      Massive thanks again to Gordon Fraser who has gotten the very best out of my setup.
      His knowledge and customer service are first class.
       
    23. Peter Parker

      Peter Parker
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Apr 6, 2001
      Messages:
      14,087
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      UK.
      Ratings:
      +3,490
    24. Mo Better Blues

      Mo Better Blues
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jun 9, 2007
      Messages:
      1,317
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      146
      Location:
      Chaldon
      Ratings:
      +2,155
      My turn Gordon...........Please
       
    25. Gordon @ Convergent AV

      Gordon @ Convergent AV
      Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Jul 13, 2000
      Messages:
      14,245
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Living in Surrey, covering UK!
      Ratings:
      +3,111
      Nodular was the first person to get this....and it only happened as i had to visit him to sort out something else and had already done a large profile of his display just over a week ago so i was able to quickly try this new LUT out. I am, today, testing more things at home and I hope to be able to start visiting all the customers who are waiting for this new update. Only a few days to wait.

      Thanks
       
    26. Nodular

      Nodular
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Nov 28, 2008
      Messages:
      1,446
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      113
      Location:
      Manchester
      Ratings:
      +785
      Hi Gary

      Not sure on that one but I'm sure Gordon will be able to say if he did or not.

      Regards

      Steve
       
    27. bandyka

      bandyka
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 6, 2010
      Messages:
      3,242
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Sydney Australia
      Ratings:
      +1,107
      I am just about to pick up a new LS. So I need a lumagen and software to do HDR WCG. Can someone kindly post a link to the exact model that is required? I am only after WCG really.
       
    28. Gordon @ Convergent AV

      Gordon @ Convergent AV
      Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Jul 13, 2000
      Messages:
      14,245
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Living in Surrey, covering UK!
      Ratings:
      +3,111
      You can probably use an Integrale to get WCG out of a Panny UHD player. You can't on a Samsung...or rather you would need to send HDR as well to geet rec2020 and then you can't display that properly as the LS10000 has no eotf for HDR

      Bandyka, what is your UHD source?
       
    29. bandyka

      bandyka
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 6, 2010
      Messages:
      3,242
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Sydney Australia
      Ratings:
      +1,107
      Thanks Gordon I have a Fury integral and the Panny player but I thought it was not possible?
       
    30. Gordon @ Convergent AV

      Gordon @ Convergent AV
      Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Jul 13, 2000
      Messages:
      14,245
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Living in Surrey, covering UK!
      Ratings:
      +3,111
      You should be able to set the Integrale to tell the Panny that the display is WCG but not HDR. You will then have HDR to SDR done in the player and, as the LS10000 has no REC2020 colour you will get incorrect colour, but wider colour gamut. That's where the Radiance Pro's come in. They can tell the player to output both HDR and REC2020 and then, if you measure your display (profiling) you can use a LUT correction file to remap the HDR WCG signal to the larger range of colour your display is actually capable of, plus get possibly some HDR detail in as well. That's what i am testing today and tomorrow

      The 4240 is the cheapest model that does what you need. You know how to get me if you need a quote
       

    Share This Page

    Loading...