EP30-EP35 and receiver questions

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Daveace1, Jan 21, 2008.

  1. Daveace1

    Daveace1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Coventry (West Midlands)
    Ratings:
    +5
    I'm considering buying a Tosh HD-35EP from Play.com for £189.99 and my current amp is a Yamaha DSPAX 757SE

    Can anyone please tell me the best sound that I will get from the HD-EP35 and what connections and settings I should use?

    I am guessing that letting the player do the decoding internally and passing the signal via the 5.1 phono connection for the amp to amplify?

    Please don't be too hard on me if I've got this completely wrong. It's just something I've been trying to work out for a while! :confused:
     
  2. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,977
    Hi Daveace1 :)
    Does you amp do audio over HDMI at all?
     
  3. Scott_Mac

    Scott_Mac
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    6,110
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bromsgrove
    Ratings:
    +628
    Yup, 5.1 Analogue Output to the Yamaha is the best you can do, the amp will just play the information that it is sent by the player, which is doing the decoding, you will get all the codecs available so TrueHD etc
     
  4. Daveace1

    Daveace1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Coventry (West Midlands)
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi kingfats, no, my amp doesn't have any HDMI ports at all.

    Thanks Scott Mac, that's just what I thought.

    Right, I'm off to become an official member of the HD-DVD camp :clap:
     
  5. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,977
    :smashin:
     
  6. GavTNewbie

    GavTNewbie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cumbernauld
    Ratings:
    +33
    Ive got the EP35 and the 757SE amp, and use the analog multichannel inputs into the amp. Its absolutely awesome :thumbsup:
     
  7. BrutalDeluxe

    BrutalDeluxe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm not wanting to hijack the thread, but I currently don't have a Receiver and want to buy one with either the EP30 or EP35. I believe the main benefits of the EP35 is that it has audio out for each channel (5.1), if I get a new receiver is the EP35 still the best way to go or can I save money on the EP30?
     
  8. richardb70

    richardb70
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5,205
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +2,388
    Second the thoughts on the great pairing, it's what I'm currently using too. Bear in mind you'll probably hit the low LFE curse, but if you use the multi-channel inputs on the 757, you can alter the levels on the amp without changing your other levels.

    Although one of them thar new Onkyos sure does look sweet!
     
  9. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,977
    Hi BrutalDeluxe
    The main benefits over the 30 is that the EP35 can send TrueHD bitstream over HDMI and also has the multi outs.
    With EP30 you can still get TrueHD (decodes in player) but your need a amp that can take LPCM over HDMI. :cool:
     
  10. Daveace1

    Daveace1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    210
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Coventry (West Midlands)
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks on the info. I'm looking forward to hearing it now.

    Yeah, I'd love to be able to afford a new Onkyo but I'll have to keep saving for that.

    What's the LFE curse? With the 5.1 analogues is the bass a lot deeper or louder?
     
  11. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,977
    No bass or really weak. :(
    With HDMI it's plug and play. :D
     
  12. mak247

    mak247
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    i know it's the wrong section but some quick advice will be very much appreciated...

    With prices coming down on HD DVD players :thumbsup:, which one shall i buy?
    EP30 or EP35?

    I have the following:
    Toshiba 42" LCD, but it outputs at 1080i &
    yamaha rx-v2600 amp...

    i dont plan to update either till the end of the year.

    :)
     
  13. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,977
    Hi mate :)
    EP30. :smashin:
     
  14. Scott_Mac

    Scott_Mac
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    6,110
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bromsgrove
    Ratings:
    +628
    I'd still say the EP35 is a better buy.... though it depends on the new amp that may be purchased, having the flexibility of the analogue outputs in case you want to stick with your current amp (which is hardly shoddy!) makes more sense to me....
     
  15. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,977
    Hi mate :)
    The rx-v2600 is 1.1 HDMI so i would have thought the EP30 would be the best option,what do ya reckon. :)
    Can take LPCM over HDMI.
     
  16. andrewf

    andrewf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,031
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +28
    Ive just opted for the 30 rather than 35 even though my Onkyo 605 can decode TrueHD etc.

    I did think that my amp would probably decode better, but a/ I didn't buy it just for the decoding capabilites and b/ there is the never ending debate on can you hear the difference.

    The 30 I got from Tesco's last night (at £180 so going back) sounded pretty dam good, though I'm a bit disappointed that I only get 5.1 TrueHD.

    I came to the conclusion that if the DVD player is doing a good enough job of decoding, I can save £70 and put this towards a BluRay player at some stage.

    That said on an extra thought, would the 35 enable my amp to 'create' the extra channels to 7.1 like it can do for standard DD5.1? Currently as it is coming over as Multi PCM, I cant choose the 'create' features.

    AndyF
     
  17. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,977
    Merged. :)
     
  18. Scott_Mac

    Scott_Mac
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    6,110
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bromsgrove
    Ratings:
    +628
    Thought it was an older non-HDMI amp... that'll teach me to not check!

    In which case EP30 is fine :)
     
  19. andrewf

    andrewf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,031
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +28
    Kingfats

    I know you've helped me earlier on another thread, but how do you know if you are getting LPCM rather than PCM? Or am I being a bit :suicide: and they are in fact one and the same.

    CHeers
    AndyF
     
  20. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,977
    Hi mate :)
    You've got the 605 and the EP30 right?
    So say your listening to Batman begins (TrueHD track) it wil be sent LPCM to the Onkyo..........end result,TrueHD. :cool:
    PCM is the raw audio track,which you get on Blu-ray discs.
    End of the day,both the same really. :D
     
  21. blicky_1

    blicky_1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +516
    I guess my 705 will do the same??

    If so for amp owners with HDMI it is better to go for the 30 over the 35??
     
  22. dunk05

    dunk05
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    I'm guessing this is something that should be firmware fixable? What are toshiba saying? I've ordered the ep35 on the back of the 5.1 analogue out
    into my denon 1603.
     
  23. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,977
    Hi mate :)
    It all depends,because the EP35 can send TrueHD Bitstream so you get the little TrueHD sign light up on your amp. :D if of course your amp can decode the HD audio tracks................which the new Onkyo's can. :cool:
    Just a matter of choice really? Do you want the Player to decode or the receiver. :)
    I've got no choice though,the player has to do the decoding for me as my amp is HDMI 1.1 and i have no intention of changing just yet. :D
    Cheers mate. :smashin:
     
  24. dunk05

    dunk05
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Ignore this, a little reading later & I see it's part of the spec and my amp can
    be setup to compensate.
     
  25. richardb70

    richardb70
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5,205
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +2,388
    As has been mentioned, the bass is weak. Not a big deal. I'm pretty sure I've got it sorted (although suggestions are always welcome). When you get your player, go into the Audio menu and turn the SPDIF to PCM, the HDMI to "Downmixed PCM" and everything else "off". Then in the analogue out, select "5.1", enter your distances, make everything "small" and set an appropriate crossover (I went for 80). In the next screen, leave all the levels as 0.

    Then, switch the Yamaha over to Multi Channel Ins, and adjust the levels so your sub is +10. All others will need to be adjusted using a sound level meter and some test tones, I used ones from a Pixar DVD. If your bass is still slightly weak (it probably will be), then set the other levels around -5.

    (Note that these levels are only for Multi Channel Ins, they won't affect your ordinary settings). Enjoy!
     
  26. blicky_1

    blicky_1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +516
    I am upgrading from a 360 add on (optical only) so as long as I can get TrueHD one way or another then i'm happy :smashin:

    Hmmmm would like that 'TrueHD' light to come on thou :D
     
  27. Hades

    Hades
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    11,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    The Yorkshire Dales
    Ratings:
    +1,184
    Just ordered the EP35 from Play.... got a Denon 3802 (for now) more than likely after much debate, that next month I will have either the Arcam 280 or 350 (so set-up will be the same).

    So therefore I am going to be connecting via the analogue connections.

    Never connected like this before, so I take it I just get 6 individual phono leads or is there something more specific people have been buying?

    Cheers,

    Gazza.
     
  28. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,977
    Hi Gazza_UK :)
    You can get 3 pairs or 6 singles,also sold in a all-in-one pack. :cool:
    Price wise,you can go as low or as high as you want really. :smashin:
     
  29. Scott_Mac

    Scott_Mac
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    6,110
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bromsgrove
    Ratings:
    +628
    I've ordered 3 pairs of these: http://www.futureshop.co.uk/profigo....html?osCsid=0bb3848ea5d90819f6421735e4ac7741

    Not too pricey, not too cheap and from a brand i know are good.....
     
  30. WATTS

    WATTS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    863
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Black Ops
    Ratings:
    +50
    Thanks for the info Scott_Mac.

    If i use analogue wont i lose quality with digital audio (on the HD DVD) being converted to analogue or is anologue the better signal?
    I thought keeping everything in the digital domain without any compression/conversion was the best possible way?
    I also thought that optical/coaxil was the daddy when it came to best connection (rather than analogue).

    So with the EP35 i will be able to get true hd dts hd through those connections and bypass the dolby/dts part of my amp?

    What are my limitations with optical output? Does it send compressed audio/uncompressed audio and can it handle uncompressed next gen audio formats or is HDMI 1.3 the only way?

    Sorry for the questions but to say im confused is an overstatement right now.

    Sometimes this forum is a blessing or a curse, you can guess which it is at the moment. :confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...