Entry Level Turntable - Advice Needed!

JakeHughes001

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone.

I am looking to get an entry level Turntable and require a bit of assistance, I am new to the world so need some guidance.

I have spoken to a friend who has recommended me the Pro-Ject T1 as a good starter. I have few questions based on my current setup and future setup.

• Turntable will initially be plugged into a Bose speaker via AUX as a short term solution (will eventually be plugged into an amp and proper speakers when I move house) - Do I need a special AUX cable to plug into the Bose (just has a 3.5mm connection)? If so which one?
  • How easy is the T1 to use for a novice? Anything I need to be mindful of or take into account?
  • Are there any other Turntables that are just as good/better in the same price range that I should be looking at?
Thanks for the help!

I am looking to get an entry level Turntable and require a bit of assistance,

Turntables as so last year. You should get a cassette deck!

...but if you stick with the turntable idea, the Pro-Ject T1 seems a fine starter example. Personally, I'd pay the extra £40 or £50 and opt for the Phono SB version which has a phono-stage amplifier built in. This means that the TT can output a line-level signal rather than the very low level output that TT's without built-in phono stage amps do. TT's with an in-built phono amp stage have more flexibility in connecting to active/powered speakers or amplifiers (many amps these days only have line-level and/or digital inputs).