Entry level HD 1080i Camcorder?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by AngelEyes, Apr 29, 2007.

1. AngelEyes

AngelEyes

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,635
    Hi,

I have done a little research and read a few reviews but I am still none the wiser what I should be looking at.

All I want is decent video PQ and SQ. I am a point and click amateur but just find my current JVC GRDVP7E a bit poor PQ compared to what I want.

I don't need any fancy gadgets but obviously the best for my money.

Budget sub £1000, preferably closer to £600 but I don't know what is available reallly.

Thank you.

Adam

2. senu

senu
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    Have a look at this

http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=498017

There are now a lot more models by Sony ( mainly AVCHD) , JVC and Canon

The Main formats are MiniDV for HDV ( established editing support) and HDD for AVCHD with emerging editing support : Sony Vegas and Pinnacle Studio 11 , and in the case of Sony, a new one with memory stick

Unless you think tape is dead: I would look at the HDV models
    Sony HC 5 and 7
    Canon Hv 10 and 20
    All of which are sub £1000

Redsox_mark is our Expert on these camcorder models , he ( as they say) has his finger on the pulse and will hopefully come along shortly

3. AngelEyes

AngelEyes

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,635
    Thanks Senu,

I have read that AVC is not quite as good quality as HDV with some artifacting present but perhaps this is offset by the convenience of a HDD and quieter use (I am guessing here but my DV tapes could usually be heard whirring in the BG when I used my JVC).

I use Premier Pro 2 for fiddling about with video but no real fancy editing, does it support AVC or will I need some plugin or such?