Enemy At The Gates.. Subtitles

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by LDR, Dec 8, 2002.

  1. LDR

    LDR
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +101
    Hi, had this (R2) disc for quite a while now, but only just got round to watching it, seeing as its been on $KY quite a bit recently, got an annonying problem where the subtitles come on on their own. I have to go back to the DVD menu, highlight them to ON, and then back to OFF, then resume the film..but they will come back on again whenver they feel like it..

    Has anyone else experienced this problem ?
     
  2. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine's fine. I have the R4 though.
     
  3. LDR

    LDR
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +101
    I know you do...I checked your profile !! :D
     
  4. toonarmy

    toonarmy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Ratings:
    +6
    I don't suppose your DVD player is Sony 725 as I had the same problem with this disc on region 2.

    I ended up selling the disc to a friend as it was to annoying to go into the menu every time subtitles came on.

    Toonarmy
     
  5. LDR

    LDR
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +101
    Tosh SD2109....And it doesnt seem to be my player..I bought a copy of this for my Brother..and it does it on his machine also..
     
  6. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried explicitly selecting subtitles OFF before you start the movie? It could be badly encoded where the default subtitle track is a dodgy one that was used during testing and has been left on the disk.
     
  7. LDR

    LDR
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +101
    SG,

    I'll give it a try..but there is no set part in the film where they come on it seems..just randomly..I'll let you know..

    LDR
     
  8. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought I had a problem with a couple of DVDs similar to what you describe (it appeared to be random). However, what I discovered it actually was, was my multi-region hack interfering with some 'imperfect' DVDs. My hack also includes an option to turn off user prohibitions so it let me switch to some of the 'secret' subtitle tracks on some DVDs which caused a problem similar to the one you're describing. If I just stuck the DVD in and hit play, it was fine. But if I switched tracks halfway through a movie using the subtitle button on the remote (i.e. not via the menus), e.g. to turn on the HOH subtitles for a bit and then turn off, then on some DVDs which were 'imperfect', my cycling through the subtitle tracks would mess things up - automatically activating some of the 'hidden' subtitle tracks that were never meant to be viewed (i.e. which weren't available in the menus).

    It's not exactly the same thing as you're experiencing, but it's similar so I thought I'd suggest it - worth a shot anyway. Fingers crossed :)
     
  9. LDR

    LDR
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +101
    Nice idea, but my old Tosh is R2 only..I really must get around to getting a newer one..but its a cracking player..so I dunno what to replace it with..but thats another story for another time..anyway..been a bit busy tonight with other things...http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=57935 so havent been able to check it all the way through..got her indoors watching it tho' ;)

    Thanks for the suggestion tho' SG..
     
  10. Andy_stook_2k

    Andy_stook_2k
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Watched the film several times and never had that problem.:blush:
     
  11. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just leaving the shots of Rachel Weisz's bum on repeat don't count ;) :p
     
  12. deckard

    deckard
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    425
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    leicester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oddly enough I just watched it this weekend.

    I've got a R2 copy and watched it on my unmodified Tosh sd100e without any probs.

    Have you got a duff disc??
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice