1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Enable DMA?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by SimonInd, Feb 9, 2005.

  1. SimonInd

    SimonInd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    Whilst investigating the cause of tearing on my new HTPC I found that DMA is not enabled for my DVD drive and this is obviously partially causing the problem. The IDE controller is set to 'DMA if available' but the NEC 3450 DVD drive is not playing ball. It's the slave on the primary channel, the master is a CD-Rom drive ( the HDD is SATA ).

    Do I need to switch the two drives to get DMA working? or is it a problem with the drive or it's drivers?

    Cheers

    Simon
     
  2. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Have you been experiencing media errors on this drive? XP has a 'helpful' (sic) feature whereby if a drive starts to log many errors it drops back to PIO mode and won't revert to DMA. You need to fiddle with the registry to make it forget them, or else uninstall the drive, disconnect it and reboot. Then re-connect and re-boot and it'll think it's a new drive.

    If this doesn't sound like a scenario that's relevant I'm not sure what to suggest. I have 2 burners on the same channel and both are working fine in DMA. I suppose it wouldn't do any harm to swap them round, that'd do the same thing as I was just suggesting so you'd not have anything to lose.
     
  3. SimonInd

    SimonInd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    I haven't seen any errors, although AnyDVD often complains when a new disc is inserted but then acts normally. This may be a result of the DMA being switched off or errors on readin the disc I guess?

    I'll try uninistalling and re-installing tonight as that should be quick and painless, if not then I guess I've got a dodgy drive...

    Thanks

    Simon
     
  4. Iycanthropy

    Iycanthropy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, i had this exact same problem a few months ago. found a great solution.

    http://www.michna.com/kb/WxDMA.htm

    have a read of this and follow the instructions, I'm sure its exactly what you're after.
     
  5. Ken

    Ken
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Messages:
    362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +2
    I had a similar problem, uninstalling the ide controller and rebooting fixed it.

    Ken
     
  6. SimonInd

    SimonInd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks guys, I disabled, then uninstalled the Primary IDE controller ( there's only one installed as the HDD is SATA ), re-booted and after a minute or so XP recognised the controller, the CD-ROM and DVDRW drives. I then had to set the controller to 'Use DMA if available' for each drive and re-boot but all is now well. Tearing has disappeared and I'm back to using about 30% of a hyper-threaded CPU with FFDShow.

    Cheers

    Simon
     

Share This Page

Loading...