Empire Direct and Faulty EP30

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by 7hil, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. 7hil

    7hil
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +145
    I'm having infrequent layer change probelms with my EP30 and moments where playback just stops. However, this is infrequent so an engineer may look at it one minute and it'll behave ok, I'll then play it and it'll playing up again.

    Anyone had experience of Empire Direct regarding returns and faults and how willing they are to refund?

    Cheers for any advice! :thumbsup:
     
  2. sambobo

    sambobo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've had problems with a sony lcd and they just said talk to sony, they wern't interested in helping me.

    If your still within the 14/28 days you might be ok
     
  3. Dave2

    Dave2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +529
    i had 2 tv`s in a matter of weeks from eachother returned with no problem.

    You are probably better off phoneing toshiba though you shouldnt have any problems from them.
     
  4. leckie

    leckie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +29
    Mine is back for repair, has been for two weeks and it's a complete farce. They say they are calling me back on friday.

    Go straight to toshiba if you can.
     
  5. leckie

    leckie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +29
    Friday has come and gone with no phone call. Not impressed at all.
     
  6. Canary_Jules

    Canary_Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,157
    Isn't this normal behaviour for the Ep30? I'm having freezing issues at times too. I'd like to know how many people have absolutely trouble free Ep30s.
     
  7. jhazeldene

    jhazeldene
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +18
    Not a single issue with mine and I've left it on supplied firmware 1.0

    Everything I've thrown at it plays without a hitch

    John
     
  8. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,975
    Hi jhazeldene :)
    Have not updated the firmware on my EP30 either,plays fine so not touching. :D
     
  9. Canary_Jules

    Canary_Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,499
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,157
    Have either of you played Bourne Ultimatum? Of course, that was a combo disc, so it could just have been the discs fault that I had problems there. And the Searchers I had an issue with last night was a rental, but the disc looked fine enough to me - no scratches. I had an issue with the DVE calibration disc. Sometimes the player will play it, at other times it won't - an yet I had no issues with it on my HD-A1.

    The first thing I did with my EP30 was to do the firmware upgrade. Maybe I should have left it as it was, but I wanted to try and get 1080/24 going with my HD80 and it wasn't working as it was (still isn't working). I've written to Tosh to ask whether these are common experiences and I should just hang on for a firmware update or whether I actually have a faulty player. On the other hand many discs have played without problems so maybe I'm just being silly :). But when you've had a few disc glitches you then start to wonder whether the next movie is going to be spoiled.
     
  10. blaster9999

    blaster9999
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +128
    no layer change problems at all when I was on 1.0 or 1.3 on. I've still got my 360 drive to double check the only issue was a freeze on rental copy with visible marks Het on to customer service at Toshiba
     
  11. rockyglw

    rockyglw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    No problems on my EP30 with over 20 HD disks using 1.3 firmware.
     
  12. leckie

    leckie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +29
    This is an absolute joke, I'm now being told they have to ship it to Toshiba (this is after them having it for 3 weeks) and they will pick it up on the 30th and I could be waiting 30 days. I'm sorry but this is out of order, I'll never be using empire direct again.
     
  13. RIG

    RIG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    My EP35 had the usual problems of discs sticking, not loading etc and was sent to Toshiba for repair with full info about what was wrong. 2 weeks later it was returned with a note saying they could find nothing wrong with it but if the problem persisted to send in the discs that were giving problems and give full info. I complained to Toshiba customer services and they gave me an uplift number for a refund/replacement. Decided to get an XE1 instead. My advice, if you can, ask for a replacement not a repair.
     
  14. eiren

    eiren
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11,242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,796
    I wouldn't use them either. Amazon despatched me a replacement 10 minutes after I told them my EP30 wasn't working. They've paid for DHL to come pick up the faulty unit this week, which will be after I've received my replacement.

    Perfect customer service
    :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...