Emotiva UMC 200 drop out issues with Sky?

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by fayeanddavid, Apr 13, 2016.

Tags:
  1. fayeanddavid

    fayeanddavid
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bearsted Kent
    Ratings:
    +1,920
    Any of the Emotiva owners out there experienced this issue at all??
    I have a Sky HD 1TB box connected via HDMI to the UMC 200 and I can experience 5 or 6 dropouts per hour (sometimes more) for 1 to 5 seconds.
    Most of the time I can live with it, but not in a movie, drives me nuts, any ideas, any suggestion, jitter issues with the Sky box, process or to sensitive.....
    I've lived with this for a couple of years now and it is getting on my t..s now

    Any advice please
     
  2. paulst10

    paulst10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,665
    Does it only happen when the adverts cut in/out or literally during a movie?

    Also, have you tried using an optical cable and just connecting HDMI direct to the TV? There's no benefit in using HDMI over optical when using Sky/Virgin etc! so it could be worth a try
     
  3. fayeanddavid

    fayeanddavid
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bearsted Kent
    Ratings:
    +1,920
    Thanks
    Happens at any time, ads, movies, live sports.

    Really don't want to go HDMI to tv as I use the pre pro as a switching module for Sky, BluRay and AirPlay via AppleTV, would be a major piece of work attempting that work around also due to the current installation.
     
  4. rjg

    rjg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Winchester
    Ratings:
    +59
  5. fayeanddavid

    fayeanddavid
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bearsted Kent
    Ratings:
    +1,920
    Thanks rjg, will take a look
     
  6. fayeanddavid

    fayeanddavid
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bearsted Kent
    Ratings:
    +1,920
    Pretty much says use HDMI for video and optical/coaxial for audio.

    Think I did that a while back, but can be wrong, I'll have a tinker tonight tomorrow and report back

    Thanks
     
  7. rjg

    rjg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Winchester
    Ratings:
    +59
    If you set the Sky box output for HDMI to 'normal' (as opposed to DD) do you still get dropouts? If it is set to DD do you get dropouts in a programme that is entirely 2.0 without ads, e.g. a film on BBC that is stereo?
     
  8. fayeanddavid

    fayeanddavid
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bearsted Kent
    Ratings:
    +1,920
    I'll have tinker over the next day or two and get back, thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice