Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Embedding Cables into Walls

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by steve 111, Jun 5, 2004.

  1. steve 111

    steve 111
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newport, Gwent
    Ratings:
    +1
    How do you embed cables into walls. I am about to move house and will be wall mounting my plasma and need to embed a VGA, component, and power cable to the plasma, and then 3 speaker cables to wall mount my Kef Eggs?
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    various ways of doing this if it is a plaster board wall (studwork) cut the plaster board away. Brick/Block the chisel out a channel.
    Run Video and power seperately and make sure you can get cables in and out again!
     
  3. mralsal

    mralsal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Steve. What type of wall are you going to be dealing with? i.e brick, stud etc
     
  4. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    3 cardiff boys on one thread :smashin: :smashin:

    if its brick get a angle grinder from b&q £14.99 some ready mix plaster £5.00

    if you have a look on page 26 of the get ya plasma out thread you will see how i done mine. its was easy ;) .
     
  5. mralsal

    mralsal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok. What I did was chase out the wall which was brick with a grinder as jmack but instead of just plastering in the cables in I ran 16mm oval conduit in the wall for speaker cables. For cables going to plasma I ran 68mm round rain water down pipe with an 90 degree elbow at the top so it comes straight out of the wall at a level behind the screen. This is a good size pipe that is big enough to take the ends of even a scart lead, power cable and others pulled through it.
     
  6. Doctor_AB

    Doctor_AB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +79
    Do power and video cables need seperate channels?
     
  7. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,651
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +302
  8. Blu Ray

    Blu Ray
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +12
    Doctor AB. yes, it is always best to keep the power cable separate from the other cables.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice