1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Eltax Subwoofer advice!!! Urgent.

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by mujaddid, Oct 26, 2002.

1. mujaddid

mujaddid

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im considering the purchase of an Eltax Atomic A10 subwoofer.

My budget is low £150 and I need feedback from u guys, has anyone had any experince with the Sub in question? Are there alternate subs that outperform the Atomic A10 (100W) within that price range?

Finally im new to home cinema setups and am a little confused.

Q: Im thinking of hooking up a Active sub (above mentioned) to the Sony STR-DB1080 AMP, are there any known issues with active amps or is it preferable to find a passive Sub?? Meaning the signal from the amp conflicting with the amp in the sub???

http://www.techtronics.com/uk/shop/...-subwoofer.html

http://www.techtronics.com/uk/shop/...d-receiver.html

Thanks guys
    :confused:

2. bob007

bob007

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

It's a shame you can't add a little bit more to your budget as there are some REL subs for sale here, the REL Q100 would be a very good purchase, you should be able to knock the sellers asking price down a little more. Something like this would really out class the Eltax Atomic sub.

I would save a bit more than go for one of the bugdet subs, I have owend one in the past when first starting out in HC, and all it did was ruin the overall sound, in my experience it's better to have no sub than to have something that's not up to the task.

Also have a look on the forum classifieds, there have been a few up for grabs lately as members are upgrading to Uncle Erics Velodyne range in the Power Buys Forum.

:)

3. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906