1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Eltax Monitor III + Cambridge Audio A5 - Speakers getting very low frequencies

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by markiemrboo, Jul 19, 2005.

1. markiemrboo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Hello there,

First of all I'm a complete newbie to all of this stuff, so go easy ;). I wanted to give the whole Hi-Fi thing a try, but I was kind of on a budget. I did a fair bit of research and found nothing bad said about the Cambridge Audio A5 amp and Eltax Monitor III speakers, both of which I could pick up cheap off ebay (I know, you don't really know what you're getting...)

Well. I got all my stuff the other day. The speakers and amp look new as described, except the speakers were missing that biwire jumper plate so I *had* to biwire them. I've been using them for a few days at relatively low volumes. By low I mean never really past 1/4 of the way on the amps volume dial. I was actually very happy with the set up.. until...

Today! People went out so I thought I would put on a song and turn it up a bit. For those wondering it was some track from a game called "Need for Speed: Underground", "Get Low" it's called. Well, anyway, I think this song puts out some low bass < 50Hz (these speakers are rated down to 50Hz).

Here lies my problem! At about half way on the dial the speakers went a little crazy on the low frequency for this particular song. It sort of.. distorted.. badly, and made horrible rattley sounds. It just didn't sound good *at all*. So I quickly turned them back down again...

I did a little test and, since I have the amp plugged in to my computer, turned the "31Hz" band on my sound cards EQ *right* down, played the same song at half way and it sounded fine now. In fact, it sounded ok all the way up till atleast 3/4 on the volume dial.