Eltax CR-550B USB/SD

Discussion in 'ICE, Sat Navs & Dash Cams Forum' started by Forty, Apr 21, 2007.

  1. Forty

    Forty
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. CosmosD

    CosmosD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dover
    Ratings:
    +8
    I've just installed this model in my car along with some Sony speakers. Unit Came with an ISO connector which allows you to plug existing connectors straight in. Needed an aerial adaptor (£3.99 at Halfords, £1.99 from caraudiodirect). Not had much time to test it but so far so good. It played music straight off my 2GB USB flash with no problem. This is also available at ebuyer for about the same money.
     
  3. Forty

    Forty
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, Thanks for that.

    I've had a read through the reviews at E-Buyer & although the overall consensus is that it's a very good unit for the price/features, the buttons are very fiddly.

    What's your opinion of it ?
     
  4. CosmosD

    CosmosD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dover
    Ratings:
    +8
    Had a good fiddle today and I'm very impressed. Along with the new Sony speakers the sound improvement over the original stuff is tenfold.
    I have to admit the buttons are pretty small but they are easy enough to work. I don't think you'll beat it sound for pound wise.
     
  5. Forty

    Forty
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks again.

    Well i've bitten the bullet & ordered one from Ebuyer, even got an extra £10 discount through google checkout !!.
     
  6. RichKS

    RichKS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +50
    Can someone tell me: Does this player remember the position you got to in the track when you turn your car off? That is, if I'm 23 minutes into a 65 minute podcast when I get to work, will it start playing again at 23 minutes when I start my car again to go home?

    Cheers!
     
  7. mihangel

    mihangel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just ordered mine from Ebuyer,and same as Forty had a tenner off by paying through google checkout.Not sure what card reader and sd card to buy so can any of you guys help me out what you`d get from the link.As i live in Swansea there`d be no postage i can pick it up direct.Thanks.:thumbsup:

    http://www.mpcomp.co.uk/mpc.php?page=catalogue&type_id=89
     
  8. RichKS

    RichKS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +50
    Any card which is SD is what you want.

    Not the Mini or Micro ones. They'll work (with an adaptor that you'll probably get included) but will cost more per meg than regular SD. MMC (Multi Media Card) will also work, but aren't as good as SD. At the moment 1 or 2 GB cards are pretty good value. Speed won't be an issue in an MP3 player, even the slowest will work fine.

    Any card reader will be OK, as long as it reads SD. Given the cost, there's no reason not to go for one of the multi format ones unless you really don't think you'll ever own any other format of memory card. Internal ones reduce desktop clutter, if that's important to you.

    I don't see any cards on that page which are brands I've ever used, so can't be much more helpful than that.
     
  9. CosmosD

    CosmosD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dover
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yes, Starts again where you left it.

    and here's a good deal for a 2GB SD card which I can say works OK

    http://play.com/Electronics/Electronics/4-/3336376/Maxell_X_Series_2GB_SD_Memory_Card/Product.html
     
  10. mihangel

    mihangel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys,got my Eltax the other day.But i need help.When i tune it in and save the stations it goes back to factory default when i turn the engine off or take the face off.What am i doing wrong?I`ve tried everything i can think of.
     
  11. CosmosD

    CosmosD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dover
    Ratings:
    +8
    I had the same problem and needed to swap Pins 4 (Yellow-Continuous Supply) & 7 (Red-Switched Power Supply) with each other in the ISO connector that comes with the head unit.

    Double Check your cars wiring configuration to confirm.

    The Pins can be easily removed from the ISO connector with a small screwdriver or paper clip.
     
  12. schooleydoo

    schooleydoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    486
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Luton
    Ratings:
    +13
    This seems too good to pass up, couple of query's though...

    My current HU is 50w, will i notice the 10w difference? Will be powering 4" Kicker components only.

    Only one preout, this can be split with an RCA adapter, does this decrease quality noticeably?
     
  13. mihangel

    mihangel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    All sorted now thanks.Only prob i further encountered was with the amplified aireal adapter i bought from Halfords.It had a blue wire and the instructions stated a white wire.Bit of a mess about but got there in the end.Bought this as i could not get MW for Five Live and Talksport.Thanks all for your help and advice.:smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...