Elite using hdmi to Dvi

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Gazaman, Sep 7, 2007.

  1. Gazaman

    Gazaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +178
    I recently started a thread about problems connecting my 360 premium to my tv using VGA http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?p=5437556#post5437556
    However...........my 360 was in fact faulty and i have since changed to an elite.........which brings me to my next questions(sorry)

    As far as i am aware DVI is exactly the same as hdmi but cant send audio so after setting up my elite using the hdmi-to-dvi lead i was expecting to get th hi-def options (720p,1080i,1080p etc) but i was only offered the option of changing the actual resolution as if i was using a vga lead,is this correct??

    If not could it be because of the lead that i bought which was a HDMI to DVI-D SINGLE LINK?
    Since buying the above cable i have had a look on the internet and it seems that the best dvi lead to get would be a DVI-I dual link.

    One more thing.....when i tried to put a game in earlier it says it couldn't play it because it was PAL-50 (or it could have been 60,cant remember) and to change this setting in the display options,but there is no such option.


    Please help
    Gary
     
  2. Gazaman

    Gazaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +178
    Forget about the Pal bit at the end cos i've managed to sort that:cool:

    Gaz
     
  3. SHPanda

    SHPanda
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I don't really see a problem. Can't you just choose the resolution that is 720p or 1080i/p whichever you want? I'm sure they'll be in the list.
     
  4. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,960
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,473
    720 & 1080 are just shortened resolution references.

    720 = 1280x720.
    1080 = 1920x1080.

    It doesn't really matter which format they're referenced in does it?
     
  5. Gazaman

    Gazaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +178
    I actually wondered about this but(as i'm sure you've worked out yourself by now) i know absolutely jack sh*t about all this.
    I thought that if i was not getting the format options then maybe the 360 is not recognising my tv as being hd therefore not sending an hd signal.
    This is probably completely wrong but i'm trying to get to understand how this connectivity works.
    Thanks
    Gary
     
  6. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,960
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,473
    No worries - we're all new to this at some point! The only thing to remember is the option to display at 1920x1080 is identical to the option to display at 1080p - both are HD options, just as 1280x720 is the same as 720p.

    There's some useful info in the FAQ you may want to see too...
     
  7. Blackbolt360

    Blackbolt360
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,793
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +794
    All resolution numbers just refer to the vertical resolution. Just remember that every number is associated to the vertical aspect, 60hz = 60 Vertical Hertz, 720p = 720 Vertical Lines Progressive.
     
  8. Gazaman

    Gazaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,000
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +178
    Thanks alot for your help guys (much appreciated) but was wondering--do i set my 360 display settings to native res or max supported res(1080i)?????
    Cheers
    Gaz
     

Share This Page

Loading...