Electrohome ECP4500 SXGA any good?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Orbital, Apr 20, 2001.

1. Orbital

Orbital

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi There Everyone!

I've got the opportunity to get hold of one of the above CRT projectors for £1200. It seems to be in very good condition but I have no idea if they are any good or not. So I'm hoping that you guys might be able to help me out and give me the low down.

Cheers

Orbital

P.S. I'm new to all this so please speak slowly :)

2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,059
    Orbital: I've not had a play with one of these but from what I can gather it's a 7" tubed data projector.

Electrohome are no longer. They are now Christie Digital. I don't think there's a UK distributor but there are lots of s/h ones knocking about here and in the US so spare's shouldn't be too much of an issue.

Without the use of a video processor (or HTPC) you will see scan lines with this model.It's pretty good so it draws thin lines. I'd advise adding on money to your budget for an Iscan if you aren't going the HTPC route.

Ask to see it working before parting with dosh. If not possible check the tubes faces with a bright torch to see if there's any discolouration of the phosphor.IE Look for 4:3 brown colour on the face of the blue tube etc. If you can see this clearly then it's a sign of misuse/ageing. Also look and see if you can see anyhthing else burnt in to the face like a windows "stsrt" button or task bar.

£1200 for a good working one seems fair. Have fun and if you go for it, welcome to the club!

Gordon

3. Paul O Hale

Paul O Hale

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. Orbital

Orbital

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi again :)