1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electrical wiring help

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by sirata, May 3, 2005.

  1. sirata

    sirata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    271
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    GUERNSEY
    Ratings:
    +40
    i have an outbuilding that has an electrical supply from the house,it did have flouresent lighting,i have taken this out,the problem i have is this.
    the outbuilding supply,has a spur to a 3 amp switch that supplies the lights.
    at present,the cable goes to a wall light then onto a junction box that goes to another wall light and from the same junction box to a light switch
    When i go back to the house and turn on the supply,i can see the lights come on, but when i use the outbuilding light switch,it switches the lights off
    but they don`t come back on,it must be fusing the 3 amp switch,because when i tried a 13 amp fuse,it tripped the house.
    all the cable in the outbuilding has an earth,but the light switch is all plastic,so no earth connection,i have the live to the comm and the black to L2.
    There was never any problems with the fluroesent,so i must have wired something wrong
     
  2. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Were there 1, 2 or 3 cables in the Fluorescent fitting??
    Also, are the core's red and black, or brown and blue??
     
  3. sy278

    sy278
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +40
    both blacks should go into comm, one of the reds to L1 and the other to L2
     
  4. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Where did sirata mention a two way lighting circuit.
    If he has only changed the light fitting, the chances are, the wiring fault is
    there.
    One step at a time, let's try and talk the guy through it. Not jump the gun
    and get him to mess with even more.

    Johnny.
     
  5. TVTina

    TVTina
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think you should get someone in to fix it Sirata. Before you hurt yourself.
     
  6. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Cannot argue with that statement.
    But, if you have only messed with one light fitting, why waste 50 quid on a
    live/neutral switched short, when we only have to sort out a couple of cables.
    Your choice....!!!!!

    Johnny.
     
  7. sy278

    sy278
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +40
    comm should be the black for code, and the l1 and l2 are either side of the switch, so if its not 2-way and he only has 2 wires then it will most likely be switch where 1 wire should be in l1 and the other in l2, safest thing though is to check the wiring diagram that came with the switch or buy one with a diagram, or get an electrician to do it.
     
  8. sy278

    sy278
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +40
    I have tried to do you a wiring diagram but my drawing skills on the computer arent up to much, but i think you should be able to follow it.



    hope this helps.
     
  9. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    I think you are jumping in a bit too much mate, it sounds like sirata
    has just mixed up the loop-in and switch wires in the new fitting.
    It is only a case of sorting out which is which.

    Johnny.
     
  10. sy278

    sy278
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +40
    yes and the drawing should help him identify where this is.
     
  11. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Are you an Electrician Sy?
     
  12. sy278

    sy278
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +40
    Alarm Engineer, but that included a lot of the elctricians training too.
     
  13. sirata

    sirata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    271
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    GUERNSEY
    Ratings:
    +40
    thanks sy278, thats sorted me out
    cheers
     
  14. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Well done Sy. Glad your sorted Sirata.
    Sy, do you install domestic alarms, and if so, what is your recommended panel.

    Johnny.
     
  15. sy278

    sy278
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +40
    Well done Sirata, glad I could help.


    JT, yeah I do install domestic, I would recommend the Ademco/Microtech Accord range, low price but very reliable and easy to use.
     
  16. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Sirata, what type of light fittings have you got installed?
     
  17. sirata

    sirata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    271
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    GUERNSEY
    Ratings:
    +40
    just very basic b and q lampholders at present,i wanted to get all the electrics sorted before the plasterboard goes up,glad i did !!!!!
    when i`m nearer completion,then i`ll buy the proper lights.

    Dave
     
  18. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Sirata, you need to be very careful, if that is now how the lights are wired.
    Is this going to be a Home Cinema room?
    Most people change broken lamps(bulbs) with the switch turned off.
    This is where you need to be careful, with the switch in the off position,
    your first light is sat with mains potential on both pins in the bayonet cap.
    I would seriously suggest you get it sorted.

    Johnny.
     
  19. sy278

    sy278
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +40
    Either that or turn it off at the consumer board before changing any bulbs.
     
  20. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Not exactly sound electrical advice, is it?
     
  21. sy278

    sy278
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +40
    Well strictly speaking before doing any electrical work you should isolate the supply at the consumer board.
     
  22. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Ok........
     
  23. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    At the end of the day Sy, you can try and defend that method of wiring
    lights up, but it is wrong.(full stop)
    I visit this forum, in the hope of occasionally helping folk out
    If there is anything you can pick fault with me for, it is helping people
    to do modifications, that, by law, they should not be doing. But, I know the
    score, they are going to do it anyway. So, I help them. They may be breaking
    the law, but, if they follow certain advice, they will do it correctly.
    Before I give any advice on these forums, I research the advice. I read the
    IEE Wiring Regulations 16th Edition. You obviously do not.
    But hey, at the end of the day, these intelligent fellow forum members, take
    the advice of whoever they choose.

    Sorry to be so blunt about it, but I did try to steer the guy, one step at a time.

    Johnny.
     
  24. sy278

    sy278
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +40
    I know he shouldnt be doing it, but obvioulsy he is, and I am only pointing him the right direction.


    Any electrician worth his salt would fully isolate the supply by switiching it off at the Distribution Board and not just the local switch before commencing work on point.
     
  25. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    No. The advice you gave, is dangerous.



    Please do not try to insult my intelligence.

    Johnny.
     
  26. sy278

    sy278
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +40
    I gave no dangerous advice, only resolved his problem as he had it wired.

    And my advice to turn off at the consumer board is safer than switching off at the switch no matter how it is wired, so dont talk to me about insulting intelligence.
     
  27. sirata

    sirata
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    271
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    GUERNSEY
    Ratings:
    +40
    i have now got an electrician to come out,to double check everything

    Dave
     
  28. sy278

    sy278
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +40
    Good, glad to hear it!
     
  29. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    And so you should be.
     
  30. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    53,730
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +29,746
    Ouch, I have never done anything else than turn off the switch before changing a bulb, this is scary.

    Having moved into a house where they wired a new ring main loop into the lighting circuit and changed the 5 amp lighting fuse at the consumer unit for a 15 amp one...

    We ran a washing machine and tumble dryer through that loop, assuming the mains double socket was connected to a real ring main.
    Then my wife turned on her computer on the same loop at the same time as we were washing and all the lights started to flicker, then the cable on the light circuit melted all the way back to the fuse box burning out several light fittings along the way...

    The concept of "this works but you do need to remember to..."

    is seriously scary

    I'm with Johnny:

    "No. The advice you gave, is dangerous."

    :)

    Dave
     

Share This Page

Loading...