1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Elac subwoofer input bridge?

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by Darren Blake, Jul 14, 2003.

  1. Darren Blake

    Darren Blake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich, UK.
    Ratings:
    +15
    When my Denon 1803 arrives I am going to use it to drive my Elac subwoofer (I forget the model number, but it is the one that comes with the Cinema1 package).

    The sub has L and R inputs whereas the 1803 only has a mono output. According to the book of words for the sub, I should connect the mono feed to the L channel and see how it goes. However, if the bass is too low I should bridge the connectors and feed both L and R channels from the same source.

    I intend to do this from the word go as it seems the proper thing to do. Is this bridge a simple Y adapter (one phono in, two phonos out) in which case I could make it myself, or is there some fancy impedance matching electronics inside (which would justify the £35 price tag I was given for an off-the-shelf one on Saturday)?

    TIA,
     
  2. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +890
    I'm just using a Y-Splitter into my sub, as are several other members of the Forum. Wasn't expensive at all, only a few quid. :)
     
  3. Andywilliams

    Andywilliams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,078
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    notts.
    Ratings:
    +63
    Hi Darren
    Maplins do a y-splitter for £5 +postage.
    Gonzo.
     
  4. Darren Blake

    Darren Blake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich, UK.
    Ratings:
    +15
    Cool. Sounds like it is a straight 2-into one split.

    I was worried that there would be an impedance problem if I did that, but it sounds like not...

    Thanks for the replies.
     
  5. avanzato

    avanzato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +61
    Have you tried it yet with one socket?

    Those Elac satellite speakers are pretty inefficient 84dbw. Could you end up with too much gain connecting both sockets?
     
  6. Darren Blake

    Darren Blake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich, UK.
    Ratings:
    +15
    I haven't tried it with anything yet, on account of having no AVR to connect them to :)

    Using both inputs just seemed the best way to go. I probably will try it with one first, though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...