Education For Novice Enthusiasts In Separates/RS87's Blog

RS87

Established Member
Reaction score
Summary of this thread (to avoid having to read my detailed dribble below): For novices and enthusiasts to be able to build knowledge and experts to give advice and guidance on setups and how separates work and can best be combined to achieve a high level of musical fidelity on a 'reasonable' budget, starting from new and definitely considering what can be had 'used' but still modern to achieve that price/gain balance.

My Personal Detail: I'm a novice and I'd like some education from like minded and experienced AVF'ers. I've been doing my homework and will continue to do so, so this isn't a "please hand everything on a plate to me" situation but one that hopefully can engage both novices and experts without prejudice or pretentiousness.

So I've really got the bug recently about all this whole AV world since recently making a few important upgrades with my TV, receiver and the front 3 speakers (see sig). Since then, I've fallen down the rabbit hole and am on a quest to build and experience great musical sound quality in my front room.

Obviously (to the seasoned vets), the recent changes are all based on the A/V experience but it's the Hi-Fi rabbit hole that I have fallen down into. I was unaware, as a novice, that it was next to impossible to experience true high fidelity from a single AV receiver since there is far too much going on within the unit itself that it's just not possible to avoid interference in the signal, which critically degrades the audio signal. Thus, the speaker upgrades I made, made little sense, from a musical perspective, since the power to drive them and the signal to feed them is simply inadequate from an AV receiver for true musical fidelity.

So here's what I have learned recently: