Ecstacy turns to frustration

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by DTSFan2001, Aug 15, 2006.

  1. DTSFan2001

    DTSFan2001
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys,

    Got the mail I was waiting for from Movietyme to say my XA1 has been shipped and should arrive tomorrow. However I think that all of my household are at work tomorrow so may not be able to get it. Anyone had the same problem and managed to re assign the delivery address? Would it be better to get a missed delivery and then phone the card to arrange a new delivery addy?

    Ian
     
  2. shaithis

    shaithis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,668
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Last Aerie
    Ratings:
    +31
    IIRC they used CityLink to send mine (could be wrong tho...) as long as you have a depot near you, I would just wait for the card.

    CityLink will allow you to collect upto 8 or 9pm now.
     
  3. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +53
    Mines in the post tonight so should get it tomorrow, same problem as you, just wait for the card and hope the delivery man doesn't chuck it about too much.

    rich
     
  4. JUS

    JUS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Plute
    Ratings:
    +322
    I'm willing to accept delivery for you guys if that would help :devil: ;)
     
  5. geewhizz

    geewhizz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +91
    Can you not take a " sickie " :devil:
    Please note i have never taken one but in this its a consideration :lesson:
     
  6. klacey

    klacey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,081
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +187
    I wouldnt worry about it getting knocked about, took me ages to get into mine with all the padding.:smashin:
     
  7. steve0

    steve0
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    762
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +32
    Cant they leave it in the shed, whats you address again
     
  8. DTSFan2001

    DTSFan2001
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately not. My job doesn't have any cover...at least not at such short notice anyway. But I like the way you're thinking :smashin:
     
  9. DTSFan2001

    DTSFan2001
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    They could leave it in my porchway but I'd rather not leave something that expensive lying around. And if I give you my address...will I find you on here tomorrow after receiving your "new" XA1?? :D
     
  10. Roughneck1

    Roughneck1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anything we can do guys please PM me.
     
  11. scgf

    scgf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Market Harborough, Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    How did you manage that? I ordered my HD-A1 on 4 August. The web site said 'in stock'. I got an email on Wednesday 9th to say it had shipped and I've still not got it:-( I just emailed Movietyme and they said it would be delivered on Thursday 17th.

    I'm on hoilday from work and have been staying in each day since Thursday so I didn't miss the courier, sad g*t that I am. At least I can have a day out tomorrow!

    Maybe I should have flown to the States and bought one over the counter. Then, knowing my luck, I'd have booked the flight from Heathrow for last Thurday ;-)

    So, all in all it will have taken around two weeks since I placed the order. Can't say I am too impressed, given that I've ordered several bits of kit from the States in the past and taken delivery three days later. When stuff is sent by courier this is not unusual - especially considering I paid around 140 quid (maybe more) for delivery!

    Craig, is it worth having a moan to Movietyme in the States?
     
  12. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +53
    cheer Craig

    if they leave a card i can collect it later (i hope)

    cheers

    richard
     
  13. FOXCLOSE

    FOXCLOSE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    640
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    A liitle bit of topic but:

    Can anyone tell me how Custom duty + Tax is collected on goods?
    Do they deliver your item and then bill you or do you have to pay "on the spot" on your doorstep and then they let you have the item?
     
  14. scgf

    scgf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Market Harborough, Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    Depends on the courier. Some will deliver then bill you for the duty, VAT etc. a week or two later (sometimes out of the blue, when you think you've got away with it), most will deliver and expect you to pay before they will actually hand you the goods. There will always be an extra charge for the service they have provided in paying the duty to C&E on your behalf.
     
  15. DTSFan2001

    DTSFan2001
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The general rule is every company should bill you if they are legitimate. Never pay a courier at your doorstep. If the courier asks you for money there and then, take the item and tell them to send a bill to your address. You are more than within your rights to do so. (I saw an episode of The Real Hustle and they outlined scams where people are asked to pay for deliveries there and then).
     
  16. scgf

    scgf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Market Harborough, Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    This does not seem to apply in practise. The Royal Mail in my area do not even deliver an item if duty is payable. They simply leave a card to say that the item is available for collection from the sorting office on payment of the duty and PO charge.

    UPS will not leave an item without payment of the charges, nor will DHL. FedEx will (or used to) bill later. I would like to see someone try and lever the package off the courier without paying the charges.

    I suppose if you are a corporate custmer there will be a greater element of trust by the couriers. It doesn't seem to work with the average householder.
     
  17. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +53
    Mines been delivered today (wife not impressed 7.30am :eek: ) will have a play in a few days

    richard
     
  18. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    23,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +6,898

    A few days.:eek:
     
  19. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +53
    Ive no hd stuff apart from Pirates (dirty dvd) in HD, which i am looking to trade.

    richard
     
  20. DTSFan2001

    DTSFan2001
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like mine arrived sometime this morning. Got home expecting a card and found the XA1! :thumbsup:
     
  21. DTSFan2001

    DTSFan2001
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh and incidentally, I hooked it up and played Sahara. Lets just say I had a smile as wide as a cheshire cats', and it began on the Paramount HD thingy and continued into the film.
     
  22. jon1

    jon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    out in the sticks
    Ratings:
    +170
    HTML:
    
    
    enjoy it is to late to turn back..i will get my fix later:D
     
  23. rico3

    rico3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    so from ordering your TOSHIBA HD-XA1 how long did it take to get delivered and was this with the offer off a possible 8 HD DVDS FREE...and did anyone PAY IMPORT TAXES....let me know guys...:) :)
     
  24. PrinZe

    PrinZe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Im in the exact same position. Only difference is I ordered one day after you. Got e-mail on wed 9th saying it had shipped. Still waiting over a week later. How did ya find out it was coming today? I got no reply from my e-mail to movietyme enquiring about my order.:mad:
    Please let me know if ya got yours today like promised. Cheers buddy.
     
  25. scgf

    scgf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Market Harborough, Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    Hi PrinZe.

    On Tuesday I sent an email to Movietyme to moan about how long it was taking, and they replied blaming the airport problems of last week for the delay. In that email they said I would be receiving it today by CityLink.

    Took delivery at 8.30 this morning :)

    Got it set up shortly afterwards. Very nice. Trouble is I already have SkyHD so it was not the revelation that was jumping from SD broadcast TV to HD. Impressive, nevertheless.

    One observation is that the fan is very noisy - just like a PC. I'm glad I have my HD-A1 in a cabinet.

    The best thing is the quality of SD video, upscaled. I had a look at Monsters Inc. and it was amazing upscaled through the component output. I had to backup my DVD to a DVD-RW to allow upscaling to take place, though.

    Hope you get yours soon (maybe tomorrow?)!
     
  26. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    23,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +6,898
    Aren't you useing HDMI?Doesn't component scale to 480 only?Or if you copy your original does it upscale to 1080?:confused:

    Im taking it you don't have HDMI on your tv?
     
  27. PrinZe

    PrinZe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Glad to hear you got your player as promised. Yeah I have e-mailed movietyme and craig as well but as yet no reply. Oh well. Just have to keep playing the waiting game I guess.::thumbsdow Its frustrating cos the films I ordered arrived in 2 days! Have fun mate:
     
  28. scgf

    scgf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Market Harborough, Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    Cheers PrinZe.

    hunts1uk, I bought my Hitachi plasma panel before HD was announced in the UK, so it wasn't HD ready in that it has no digital inputs. Initially I was expecting to have to buy a new panel, but I was very pleased when I found that it would accept 1080i via the component inputs. Not only that but the picture is stunning - it looks less processed than many of the 'digital' HD-Ready sets I have seen.

    Normally upscaling of DVDs is not allowed through component outputs - the DVD carries a flag to ensure only 480 output is allowed through this route. However if you play a 'backup' of a DVD, the flag will have been removed and the DVD upscales beautifully through component.

    Talk about encouraging people to make copies!
     
  29. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    23,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +6,898
    Hitachi PD3000 by any chance?My 1st ever plasma.:rolleyes:
     
  30. scgf

    scgf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Market Harborough, Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    No - mine is the Hitachi 42PMA400E. Not sure where it came in the Hitachi line-up. It is simply a monitor - no tuner or speakers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice