Ecobee 3 Thermostat

Discussion in 'Smart Home, Climate Control & Security Forum' started by m11rphy, Jun 9, 2015.

  1. m11rphy

    m11rphy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +160
    Hi All,

    A company in the US called Ecobee have a really cool thermostat and there next version avalible next month will have homekit support

    ecobee3 smart WiFi thermostat

    I emailed the company yesterday to see if they plan to release in the UK, they said they didnt but said I could use the US version as long as I had a perminat 24v supply. does this sound like it would be compatable with UK heating systems ?
     
  2. neilball

    neilball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Ratings:
    +649
    Several reasons why it will not be great for UK, including Fahrenheit temperatures, no external temperature as based on US zip codes, only 24v switching so cannot directly connect to most UK heating systems. So pretty much the same issues as affected Nest before they added the heat link unit and UK/Euro localisation.
     
  3. m11rphy

    m11rphy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +160
    Thanks buddy, not the answer I wanted but save me wasting my cash. I now going to email them back to tell them to bring this to the UK
     
  4. wattolcfc

    wattolcfc
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +0
    This wouldn't work at all in the U.K. Well the sensor wouldn't at least, the main thing that controls is an air con unit. The only option to have full control of each room would be a wireless radiator thermostat with built in sensor. The only 2 options available in the U.K right now are the Honeywell Evohome and Heat Genius. Check them out but they're expensive and you probably would never get your money back in savings (unless you have a REALLY old system)

    For the record I'm a central heating engineer at one of Britains largest heating companies.
     
  5. neilball

    neilball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Ratings:
    +649
    I don't see why you would not get your money back, most systems are poorly controlled as they have a thermostat in the Hall (so the most useless place to begin with) or no room stat at all! Going fully room zoned can save 30-40% or more of the largest part of your annual energy bill. Yes it is expensive, but payback in 4-7 years seems typical for most installations unless the heating is barely used to begin with. Even a decent smart thermostat like Nest will save 20% if used well and located in a sensible location. The percentage saving is irrespective of whether you have a new high efficiency boiler or decades old massively inefficient unit, so decent controls are always a good idea.
     
  6. wattolcfc

    wattolcfc
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I disagree. These fully zoned systems are well over £1000 and if you are changing from just a regular thermostat (it's in the hall usually as it's the coldest part of the house, meaning the rest of the house is always warm) I can't see it saving you £100 a year, which could take 15 years to pay for itself. The average person moves house 8 times in their lifetime, so you are unlikely to see any savings.

    Better value for money would be to have thermostatic radiator valves fitted to all rads (apart from one which is the bypass rad, where the room stat is located) and a smart thermostat such as nest. This would be less than half of the cost and you would still have some control over each rooms temperature.

    Obviously, as the price comes down in the future, fully zoned systems will be the way to go, but for now, I'd stick well clear.
     
  7. neilball

    neilball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Ratings:
    +649
    Most controls (including the fully room zoned systems) use a variety of wireless protocols, so if you were to move house you can easily take it with you to the next place too (unlike solar PV and other energy saving improvements), reinstating the original timeclock and thermostat if you need to, so it can be a portable system if you do move a lot. However if your energy bill is only a couple of hundred pounds a year then I fully agree that a smart thermostat would be more appropriate (which is what the OP initially asked about).

    I doubt fully zoned controls will reduce significantly in cost as the wireless radiator actuators are now around £50 from the likes of Honeywell already, so it is hard to see how costs could realistically fall much further.
     
  8. topcat2014

    topcat2014
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Crawley
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ecobee 3 works well in UK. I installed two in my daughter's house in USA in Dec 2014. I then installed two in my house in SE England in Jan 2015 with gas boiler and two radiator zones. Centigrade option is built in as it is a Canadian product and Canada uses Centigrade. Internet weather for outside temp recognises UK locations, summer winter time changover works properly. You require a small 24v AC transformer (6VA is fine, and a 24v AC coil relay from RS components, I fitted them in a standard MK pattress box with Ecobee on the front. I installed alongside existing two legacy 240v thermostats in hall and master bedroom. With 6 remote sensors I now have remarkably smooth temperature control across my two heating zones. With 15 month archive and comprehensive graphing you can diagnose your systems behaviour. Since then I installed Ecobee in two local churches which benefit financially from the Optimum Start feature which Ecobee call Smart Recovery. As a 30 year commercial building hvac control specialist Ecobee 3 is in my view is the best smart thermostat for domestic use available anywhere. Sadly to get for the UK you need a North American friend or family as agent.
     
  9. neilball

    neilball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Ratings:
    +649
    I still don't see that it does anything different to any of the other Smart Stats/controls that are available and supported in the UK, and which generally support direct 230v operation without additional Interface relays/contactors.
     
  10. topcat2014

    topcat2014
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Crawley
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ecobee 3 is the only smart thermostat I know of that can measure temperature in up to 32 different places using tiny low cost 2 year coin-cell battery operated wireless sensors. The system uses the measured values of selected remote sensors and or the thermostat sensor at different times of the day exactly under your control. Each sensor uses IR to detect human presence and again by user option can determine which sensors take part in the temperature averaging. The Ecobee 3 cloud archive shows detail of every sensor temperature and IR presence, as well a s the run time of boiler(s) and pump to 5 minute resolution and 0.1C reaolution over the last 15 month. The UK Hive and UK version of Nest seem crude by comparison. However free choice is the great benefit of capitalism.
     
  11. neilball

    neilball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Ratings:
    +649
    To be honest I don't see how all that beats a proper room-zoned approach if you want to achieve maximum comfort or maximise energy savings. It is good to see the native support for monitoring, many of the other systems can only provide this by using third party integration platforms such as Domoticz. But even then it is only a small number of technically-minded users that can be bothered to take things to this level.
     
  12. Siur

    Siur
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    So can you tell me

    If it works only as heating thermostat or as heating and hot water ??
    Thanks
     
  13. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,281
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +763
    The Ecobee - either 3 or the new 4 (which also doubles as an Amazon Alexa, complete with microphones) does not support hot water.
    This doesn't matter for me as my hot water is on demand from a combi boiler.
    The downside for me is the hassle of needing a 24 volt transformer and AC relay to get this to work in UK.

    Edit: Also the Ecobee only does on/off switching and so does not gain efficiency by modulating the boiler flame and/or pump. Decent modern European boilers have this modulation feature, controlled by either a more complex dedicated thermostat from the boiler manufacturer or via an open communication protocol called Opentherm.
    For this reason , I now favour Nest over Ecobee as Nest V3 supports Opentherm.
    Old fashioned on/off switching (aka TPI) is nowhere near as efficient.
    Modern boilers with an external weather compensation sensor (fitted on a north facing wall) also normally modulate the boiler similarly to improve efficiency and optimise the flow temperature (and sometimes pressure too) to keep the boiler in its optimum condensing mode.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2017
  14. ecotom

    ecotom
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  15. ecotom

    ecotom
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi topcat2014, could you post which type of isolation relay and 24v transformer you have used, please? I am planning to do a similar installation and am desperately looking for a solution. Many thanks.
     
  16. topcat2014

    topcat2014
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Crawley
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Ecotom. RS components (uk.rs-online.com) part numbers:
    Omron Relay 24AC coil 353-843 at about £7.33
    Relay socket 353-944 at about £4.44 (or just solder to relay pins)
    Transformer 6VA 201-7016 at about £11.34
    Note this transformer has 9+9v secondaries ie combine to get 18v, but in practice the output voltage is around 23v as the load is so low.
    Do not buy the 12+12v output version as the output voltage approaches 30v which is too high for long term device safety.
    I have now installed 8 Ecobee units in the UK for friends, this is a semi professional product, most other products are too “dumbed down” for me! I hope this helps. Good luck and enjoy.
     
  17. Rahul1974

    Rahul1974
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Finding it impossible to find an installer. Topcat2014, can you help?
     
  18. vam

    vam
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Rahul,

    Did you find anyone who installed this for you ? Any reference pls ?

    Thank you.
     
  19. vam

    vam
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can you help mate to get it installed ?
     
  20. Rahul1974

    Rahul1974
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope sorry, still not found anyone.
    Was hoping TopCat2014 might be able to help but not heard anything
    Can you let me know if you find anyone
    Thanks
     
  21. vam

    vam
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Rahul,

    Found a youtube video this will help;
    Ecobee4, Ecobee3 Uk High volt configuration....


    By watching this, I think any electrician can do it.

    Thank you.
     
  22. Rahul1974

    Rahul1974
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats massively helpful, doesnt look as complicated as I thought. Are the relays the same as the ones TopCat2014 has listed do you think?
    Have you managed to get yours installed yet? Where abouts are you, Im in Reading, just in case one of us finds someone and they are local to us.
     
  23. vam

    vam
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes seems easy , didn’t find one yet. I am based in Croydon.
     
  24. vam

    vam
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Rahul,
    I got one guy who will try to install at my place, will confirm you once done. let me know your email id ?

    Thank you.
    Vam
     
  25. Rahul1974

    Rahul1974
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, really appreciate it
    Email is redacted - not a good idea
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 7, 2019
  26. Rahul1974

    Rahul1974
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Vam, Just wondering if you had any luck with that guy as ive not had any joy with anyone as yet. Thanks
     
  27. topcat2014

    topcat2014
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Crawley
    Ratings:
    +2
    How you guys getting on? I now have 5 Ecobee installations running in my home town of Crawley West Sussex. Controlling gas boiler to radiators as well as hot water tank regulation. Can I help?
     
  28. Rahul1974

    Rahul1974
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi topcat2014, yes mate, ive been struggling for almost a year to get my Ecobees connected up. Would you be able to do it. Everyone ive asked is too scared to touch them
     
  29. topcat2014

    topcat2014
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Crawley
    Ratings:
    +2
    How many Ecobee units do you have and which versions? How many sensors do you have? Is your heating system a conventional gas boiler, circulating pump & radiators? Do you have zone water valves separating upstairs, downstairs and hot water demands? Where in the UK are you located?
     
  30. topcat2014

    topcat2014
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Crawley
    Ratings:
    +2
    5401CAEF-A42E-42D7-89EA-0F269B394BAF.jpeg 7C91F395-9BCA-48F8-9082-66177F30CF8A.jpeg E7FBC4C0-5708-4167-89F2-69370C83BA46.jpeg 6A7563B4-C05D-43FE-A3AE-7B5D9D36CEA8.jpeg 19F7E127-DD1F-4497-B181-70999EBB6837.jpeg Some photos of my first Ecobee 3 home installation in 2015.
     

Share This Page

Loading...