eBay/PayPal - money frozen? possible scam?

Autopilot

Distinguished Member
I’ve been buying and selling on eBay for over 10 years, and I’ve never had this issue before.

I just sold an item for £350, and I have had an email from PayPal saying-

We've placed the money on hold because we believe this transaction may involve a higher than usual risk. There's no need for you to do anything. As long as no claims are raised by the buyer or any issues arise with your account, the money will be automatically released in 21 days.

I can’t find a clear answer as to exactly why this has happened and the implications, the PayPal help page is very vague and ambiguous.

We both have excellent feedback. Have they detected issues with my account, not that there should be, or the buyers? If it is me, I’m baffled - I’ve been using PayPal every week for years without issue.

Who does this protect, me or the buyer?

The buyer also asked if they could collect in person in a couple of weeks when they are in the area. Can they then claim the money back? If they have a fake name I would have no easy way of tracing them. Or am I being paranoid.

I am also massively annoyed as needed the money for an Xmas purchase.

I’m getting twitchy and starting to think I might have to back out of this one.

Any advice?

Last edited:

Miss Mandy

There's nothing you can do except wait it out unfortunately. I had the same recently despite myself and the buyer both having over 300 positive feedback.
Whatever you sold is in what they deem to be a high risk category and they put these holds on anyone selling in that category who's not a regular seller there. It's nothing to worry about, its just a pain in the arse.

Out of curiosity what was the item you sold? These holds are most common with mobile phones.

Autopilot

Distinguished Member
There's nothing you can do except wait it out unfortunately. I had the same recently despite myself and the buyer both having over 300 positive feedback.