1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ebay or not ??

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by Ymegod, May 12, 2005.

1. Ymegod

Ymegod
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    As a fairly reasonable 35mm photographer but a total novice re; digital photography I would like to know whether it is worthwhile buying equipment off of eBay.
    I have four Canon 35mm cameras and several Canon lenses but, even when bought new, the cost of these just about amount to the cost of a 27-40 Canon lens bought from a High Street retailer.
    However on eBay there would appear to be bargains to be had particularly from a seller in Canada whose items always attract a lot of bidders. I have read threads on this Forum by at least two people who have bought from the seller in Canada and are very happy. I just wondered about any risk involved.
    I would also be obliged if anybody could advise as to buying lenses from eBay. A person on another forum maintains he has saved a fortune buying Canon lenses from Hong Kong. For whatever reason it sounds distinctly iffy sending hard earned to Hong Kong whereas sending money to Canada doesn`t. Strange eh ?
    Hope somebody can help before I launch myself wholeheartedly into the mysterious world of digital photography.

2. condyk

condyk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    Maybe 99% of my ebay buys have been A1 and the one or two that weren't I got refunds for. So, as a market place it is great. At least you know a sellers hostory and can see what people say about them.