Easiest way to pair a card to a box?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by tiger123, Mar 3, 2013.

  1. tiger123

    tiger123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I originall had a Sky+ Box but that went faulty and I got a replacement Sky HD box instead.
    However even watching the new box via HDMI I still prefer the the picture via Scart (!).

    So I got a Sky+ box from Ebay and want to pair it with my existing card.

    What is the easiest way to do this?

    Please note the this not a scam tying to get multiroom on the cheap, or a second box with reduced functionality for another room.. I will only use one card and one box.

    Any advice gratefully received.
     
  2. redcat1

    redcat1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +261
    just phone sky, it's best to be near the box when you do
     
  3. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,768
    I don't get why you didn't use the Scart socket on the HD machine, but the way to have your card "paired" to any machine is to call Sky and ask them to do it - with the machine's reference numbers handy at the time.
     
  4. bow79

    bow79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +81
    Why is hdmi worse? fault? menu setting! unusual personal preference?
     
  5. Philip4242

    Philip4242
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +167
    Actually, you can now do this online yourself.

    This from the Sky Help Forum :-

    To pair your card simply go to www.sky.com/wrongcard and select Activate your channels.
     
  6. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,768
    That could useful in other contexts - any idea how long it's been available?
     
  7. Philip4242

    Philip4242
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +167
    I actually have both SCART and HDMI connected.

    I watch SD programs via SCART (so that the TV can switch between 16:9 and 4:3 automatically, depending on the channel/programme being watched); and I select the HDMI input on the TV for HD channels.

    This the best compromise I can find, as I hate having to 'mess about' with changing the aspect ratio on HDMI, since my TV doesn't do this automatically.
     
  8. Philip4242

    Philip4242
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +167
    Sorry, but I don't know.

    I came across a mention of it while I was looking for other info - but it certainly wasn't there last year, when I wanted to pair my existing card with a newer box.
     
  9. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,768
    OK, thanks, it was news to me completely.
    I need my card fixing from time to time and some agents do it right away but others make it a big hassle, so that will be a useful way of doing it.
     
  10. rayferry

    rayferry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +133
    This was first reported on another forum on the 11-12-2012.
    Unfortunately it would seem only a 50% success rate at pairing on line.
     

Share This Page

Loading...