Easiest emulator to set up

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by Discombobulate, Aug 6, 2013.

  1. Discombobulate

    Discombobulate
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    7,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +618
    I don't want to spend any time faffing about. I hear some of the emulators can take days to set up

    I just want to install and be away.

    Running on my laptop. Want to play SNES, game boy, Spectrum if possible.

    I have a 360 PC controller via USB.
     
  2. paddy187

    paddy187
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kirkcaldy
    Ratings:
    +254
    Snes9x is the best one out but just Google and you'll get lots of user friendly ones!
     
  3. Solar

    Solar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +469
    bsnes is by far the best, but it won't run on a laptop, so yeah you are better off with snes9x. ;)
    Visualboy advance for GB/GBC/GBA, no idea what to use for spectrum though, it's one I've never emulated.
     
  4. PFMC84

    PFMC84
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,672
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +390
    bsnes, or higan as it is now known, is working for me on my laptop, although it's not as feature packed as Snes9x. I'd actually prefer having separate emulators for each console than having one that does all though.
     
  5. Discombobulate

    Discombobulate
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    7,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +618
    Thanks for the replies. Looks like snes9x is the one to go for snes emulation on a laptop. Will check it out.

    Hopefully it works with a 360 controller.
     
  6. PFMC84

    PFMC84
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,672
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +390
    I'm using a wired USB controller I got in GameStop years ago and the buttons aren't that great any more. I think I need to upgrade so will look into getting a wireless game controller for it.

    Snes9x is the best emulator I'd say for SNES, I use Virtual Boy Advance for any GameBoy, GameBoy Advance and GameBoy Colour games. For MegaDrive games I use Gens (I see there is a Gens+ with extra features, must try that out later!) and for NES I use VirtuaNES.

    You can get these emulators or other ones if you prefer something different at emulator - zone (dot) com. (don't wanna give the actual address as a link in case it breaches rules or anything).
     
  7. Solar

    Solar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +469
    Performance mode yeah, but surely not accurate mode?
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2013
  8. PFMC84

    PFMC84
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,672
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +390
    Haven't tried it, I'll give it a go later and see what happens.

    It's an Core i7 laptop with 2GB graphics, 8GB of RAM and 256GB Solid State hard drive. What specs are required to run it if my laptop won't?!
     
  9. Solar

    Solar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +469
    3ghz is recommended IIRC, so you should be ok. If you can, always run accuracy mode as all games will play properly, where as with snes9x or zsnes, balanced and performance wont.
    Nice little write up here about it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2013
  10. PFMC84

    PFMC84
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,672
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +390
    I think mine is 2.7GHz and trying the accurate mode didn't do anything, the program would not even load seemingly. The performance one did and worked fine, but as I say, there weren't as many features as the Snes9x and I found it easier overall to navigate and use than bsnes/higan.
     

Share This Page

Loading...