Earthquake Tremor X 154 Subwoofer Build

Discussion in 'DIY Speaker & Subwoofer Building' started by doublea, Mar 12, 2013.

  1. doublea

    doublea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi All,

    This will be my first sub build. I am doing the age old trick of trying to build something for next to nothing and so far have the following items.

    Gemini GXA 750 power amp. I bought this second hand for £50.00. It claims to do 750W RMS into 4 ohms in bridged mode.

    Earthquake Tremor X 154. I got this for £75.00 new on ebay, they normally go for quite a lot more. I chose this as it seemed good value for money and the Americans seem to love them.

    I am having trouble trying to work out what size box would be best. The sub spec is as follows -

    15" Single 4 ohm Tremor-X Series Subwoofer
    Power Handling: Peak: 1500 watts, 750 watts RMS
    Impedance: Single 4 ohm
    Sensitivity: 86.3 dB
    Mounting depth: 6-3/8"
    Free Air Resonance (Fo): 28.815 Hz
    Electrical "Q" (Qes): 0.890
    Mechanical "Q" (Qms): 2.657
    Total Speaker "Q" (Qts): 0.667
    Effective Piston Area (Sd): 105.774 sq. in.
    REVC: 3.700 ohm
    BL: 15.910 TM
    VAS: 4.90 cubic feet
    One way linear excursion 30.48mm


    The manual states that a sealed box should be H 17” x W 17” x D 15” (Dimensions shown are external Dimensions using 3/4" MDF) – I make this 1.877ft3 / 53.151

    Unibox gives me 0.608 ft3 / 17.2l (90db 20Hz at 750w)

    WinISD gives me 35.02l (93.5db 20Hz) for a sealed box.

    Out of curiosity I wanted to see how big a ported box would be in WinISD. The results are 22.61l tuned to 18.21Hz. This confuses me further as I thought that a ported box was always bigger than a sealed (and this is making me doubt my accuracy)?

    Would someone with a bit more experience than me mind looking this over. I think I am doing everything correct although I am still getting to grips with the Thiele/Small parameters so could be putting a decimal point in the wrong place. I would really appreciate your help.

    The only space I have in my lounge is in the back of the room so originally I considered a down firing sub but from what I've read this doesn't seem like a good idea especially being such a cheap model. I am now considering a triangular box in the corner. Size isn't a massive issue but I would like to keep it as small as possible.

    Thanks for your help. I have a young family so I will be squeezing this in when I can. Pictures to follow.
     
  2. scottthehat

    scottthehat
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11,160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    honiton
    Ratings:
    +2,801
    on win im getting in a 53l box with 500wrms, at 20hz 99.569hz with a qtc of 0.653 and that aboput 15mm xmax.
    as the driver is only rated at 500wrms i dont know how it will handle 750wrms.
    but if it can handle more power then fine but the manual states 500 wrms.

    also as i cant find the specs for the mms i let win calculate it by putting in all the info avaiable then let it calculate it make sure the vas is correct and im getting 145.2g for mms.
     
  3. mojogoes

    mojogoes
    Remembered (1961-2016)

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10,469
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Faraneverland
    Ratings:
    +1,984
    What if he increased his enclosure volume , would this lighten the load on the amp some if he can cater for a larger unit.
     
  4. scottthehat

    scottthehat
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11,160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    honiton
    Ratings:
    +2,801
    If the enclosure war made bigger then less power is needed i will check in a bit and see if its worse or better. Just adding fill can increase the box volume.

    Also it depends if the cop is rated to 20Hz or 10Hz if the sub takes 500 makes 750 should still be ample.
     
  5. doublea

    doublea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks for your help so far. The box definitely states 750watt RMS (will post a pic later and a few of the sub) can I just check is wrms different to rms or is that the same thing?
     
  6. doublea

    doublea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
  7. mojogoes

    mojogoes
    Remembered (1961-2016)

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10,469
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Faraneverland
    Ratings:
    +1,984
    Well the max / peak wattage output is stated to be 1500w so the 750wrms/ w ems could be correct but i couldn't/didn't see as much stated.
     
  8. scottthehat

    scottthehat
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11,160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    honiton
    Ratings:
    +2,801
    53l and 750wrms seems spot on and will give a qtc of 0.653 and at 20hz will hit 101.3dbs.
     
  9. doublea

    doublea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Here's the sub. Excuse the pics of the amp my blackberry has a rubbish camera. The amp looks awful but it's going in a cupboard.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. doublea

    doublea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    53l thanks again for your help Scott and mojo. Can I decrease that size and add a load of stuffing?

    How far can you safely go with that?
     
  11. mojogoes

    mojogoes
    Remembered (1961-2016)

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10,469
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Faraneverland
    Ratings:
    +1,984
    39.7 ltrs and then fill the enclosure with poly-fibre should work out ok...........if that amp is what it says on the tin you should be no problem! if its not then buy quality.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
  12. scottthehat

    scottthehat
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11,160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    honiton
    Ratings:
    +2,801
    filling a box can add about 25/35% so as said aim for about 40l, the amp looks pretty good to be honest and should do the job, but just see how it goes as the sub might need the 750 wrms and thats gonna push the amp if it does start clipping it can cause the sub to make pop noises, if it does not power as you think it should look at getting something like a behinger nu3000 which in bridged mode has 2200wrms in bridged mode, so pleanty of clean power,

    also does the amp say if its rated down to 20 or 10hz.
    just looked at manual and its 20hz also it doesnt say if the ratings are in rms, and it looks like it only has a 550w psu so not sure its gonna give 750w rms.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
  13. S7M0N

    S7M0N
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +57
    I'm filling mine when its finished ;)
     
  14. M87NER

    M87NER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    657
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +40
    I like the Earthquake - was looking at some a while back.

    Good Luck with the Build, Keep your progress updated on here :smashin:
     
  15. S7M0N

    S7M0N
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +57
    I also looked at these in my local car audio shop... they do look nice, only didn't like the red logo, same problem i had with the Audiobahns....

    :) I'm sure I shouldn't be bothered about rather than the sound :)
    Look forward to seeing the cabinet

    Si
     
  16. doublea

    doublea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I thought the same I might try colouring that black to be honest. As it's raised it shouldn't be to difficult with a steady hand.

    When I first got the amp I gave it to a friend who's a sound engineer to test as I didn't even have any speakon connectors. He said it ran a couple of 18" bins at the club fine and seemed to have quite a lot of head room so I'm hopeful but realistic. If it doesn't I'm sure I can make my £50 back. I also live in a terrace house. It's an end of terrace but terrace none the less.

    They are going to hate me.......

    Last rookie question does the 40l account for the woofer? Do I need to work that out and increase any box size to take it into consideration?

    Thanks all
     
  17. S7M0N

    S7M0N
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +57
  18. doublea

    doublea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10

    I have seen this but it's a great link for other newbies.

    My question is around the woofer and do you need to account for this.

    E.g Win recommends 95 litres so a 20" cube would do this. Do you then have to work out the volume of the woofer and increase the size to take this into consideration? So it may become a 21" cube? Sorry if i'm not making sense.
     
  19. scottthehat

    scottthehat
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11,160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    honiton
    Ratings:
    +2,801
    Yeah it has to be added in to it. But sup probably only like 2 Liter and you can add fill after to compensate for it .
     
  20. doublea

    doublea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thank you that puts my mind at rest.

    Watch this space i'm busy for the next week then the tools are coming out.
     
  21. scottthehat

    scottthehat
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11,160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    honiton
    Ratings:
    +2,801
    we wait on pics then.
     
  22. doublea

    doublea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I've decided to cheat and get the box built.

    If your looking for the same check out Gordy1948 on that well known auction site - very reasonable and top bloke.

    I've been quoted £48.00 in 25mm MDF with a double front baffle. This shape and size will give me 43.131 litres.

    Should take about a week so will post pictures as and when.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. mojogoes

    mojogoes
    Remembered (1961-2016)

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10,469
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Faraneverland
    Ratings:
    +1,984

    Is it going in your car:confused:.............why that shape , is it because it has to fit in a certain place/area:rolleyes:................uur D.I.Y:blush::)
     
  24. doublea

    doublea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    The pic is from above the sub isn't pointing at 45 degrees (which it looks like at first glance).

    It's going in the back corner of the room behind me so I hope it will help bounce the bass around a bit more and not just at the opposite wall or the sofa.
     
  25. scottthehat

    scottthehat
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11,160
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    honiton
    Ratings:
    +2,801
    Looks good gordy is a nice guy and his works great.
     
  26. doublea

    doublea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10

    He comes highly recommended and his prices are really reasonable.

    If I was going for a square box then I would have had a go myself but i'll leave this one to the professional.
     
  27. S7M0N

    S7M0N
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +57
    Like it alot :)... I did think it looked like a car sub to start with tho ;)

    But makes more sense looking again... :thumbsup:

    I paid about £40 for my 25mm MDF cut straight lines so I think thats a good price for sure :clap: (and I had to cut my own baffles :( )
     
  28. mojogoes

    mojogoes
    Remembered (1961-2016)

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    10,469
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Faraneverland
    Ratings:
    +1,984

    Ar gotcha no then its a nice shape like half that of the sub1/2 will need some good slice of eqing as its going in a corner i would think:smashin:
     
  29. doublea

    doublea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10

    Ok thanks I didn't realise that. I might be picking your brains then once it's up and running.

    Do most people just use poly wool for stuffing? Is there any benefits in putting a denser foam on the sides and poly wool in the middle?
     
  30. S7M0N

    S7M0N
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +57
    I read somewhere that if you use a dense foam it will absorb the volume giving you a smaller inside - some people have been using the inside of pillows...

    I have an old duvet I will open up tonight :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...