EAC & title track naming

SteveAS

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

Sorry for this dumb question, but I'm new to ripping music.

I'm trying to get to grips with all the software required to be able to rip my CD collection on to my PC in lossless format, i.e. .flac codec.

I've downloaded EAC and FLAC. When EAC reads a disc it doesn't recognise the track information such as the artist, song title, album name.

What is it I need to do in order to have this info on each track? Is this what 'tagging' is all about or am I getting my knicks in a twist? I understand you can download/buy tagging tools but I'm unsure as to what they achieve exectly.

Please help. I want to get organised and rip all my CDs to the PC (or a NAS but not at that wife acceptance stage yet ;)). Before I do all this (I tried a CD rip to test the EAC software) I need to know what else I require before all the ripping I do becomes a wasted effort down to missing some very important points.

I have read the stickys but am still lost. The useful links are just that, but me being me is just too thick for this at the moment.

Anyway, the wife is getting impatient and isn't convinced that what I am trying to do is going to benefit her (I've told her there wont be any need for huge cd storage racks in the living room, the great touch of a button access to music, etc etc).

TIA, Steve

In eac options..

%A\%C\%N - %T

in flac options

-8 -V -T "artist=%a" -T "title=%t" -T "album=%g" -T "date=%y" -T "tracknumber=%n" -T "genre=%m" %s

with that it'll rip to \album\artist
if the sonos supports replaygain don't forget to do that in foobar.

Alt + G will make EAC get the CD details from freedb.

Are you ripping in secure mode? I use secure mode with offset and test and copy each track. Takes time but it is worth it to ensure an accurate rip.

>I've told her there wont be any need for huge cd storage racks in the living room<

Tell her that her concern begins and end in the kitchen!:devil: