1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

E85/Viera help please

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by lazzer, Jul 9, 2004.

  1. lazzer

    lazzer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apologies if this has been asked before, but could anyone please enlighten me as to how to record from the Virea's built in DVB tuner onto the E85?

    Any help much appreciated!

    Cheers. Lazzer :)
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,260
    One of the Scart sockets on the back of the TV should be capable of outputting a signal from the TV. You can connect that to the AV2 on the E85 which will then record what your TV is seeing.

    IMHO you be alot better off getting a dedicated Freeview box as this will enable you to record in high quality RGB - you TV will probably only output composite.

    Consult the guys on the Freeview forum for the best decoders:
    http://www.avforums.com/frame.html?http://www.avforums.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=48
    ...although some good options are:

    Panasonic TU-CT30
    http://www.rgbdirect.co.uk/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=2109

    Sony VTXD800
    http://www.rgbdirect.co.uk/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=1996
     
  3. lazzer

    lazzer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Rasczak,

    Will investigate the AV2 suggestion but am currently using a component lead to connect the E85 to the Viera. Will this be affected at all?

    Thanks
     
  4. apreading

    apreading
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Is there a Q-Link thingy? Isnt this meant to allow the E85 to record from Panny Tvs with Q-Link? Dont know how it works, but worth looking at as I was under the impression that this was its intended purpose.
     
  5. apreading

    apreading
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    BTW I got the Panny TUCT30 (dont confuse with the 20 which only has one scart socket) for £59 inc VAT from digital-point.co.uk

    And I know Amazon are doing the Sony for about £80 now...
     
  6. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,260
    No - youll be able to keep that connection (as it allows you to watch DVDs in the best quality). However you'll need a Scart running from the TV to AV2 on your DVD recorder.

    As Apreading points out there are lots of cheaper places than the RGB Direct links I quoted - they were for information only and I should have specified that more clearly.
     
  7. apreading

    apreading
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    No probs - the ones I quote may not be the cheapest either, just what I came across in the last week or so...

    I do think a separate digibox is the best way to go though - cos presumably you would otherwise have to watch what you are recording?
     
  8. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,260
    Yes - not ideal.
     
  9. lazzer

    lazzer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks fellas for your input........ :)

    Lazzer
     
  10. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,838
    The TUCT30 also has a timer which works with the external link function of the recorders. This is very useful for some people.

    A lot of timers on other Freeview boxes won't work with the external link.
     

Share This Page

Loading...