1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

E85 Help! Can't record Sky when TV is off!?!

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Tejstar, Nov 14, 2004.

  1. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +990
    I've just bought a 37" Viera and pulling my hair out trying to set it up with the E85 recorder.

    My biggest problem at the moment is not being able to record Sky when the plasma is turned off. Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

    I have set it up as follows:

    Sky scart --> AV1 scart on Viera
    E85 scart --> AV4 scart on Viera
    VCR scart --> AV2 scart on Viera

    Aerial RF --> E85
    RF cable between Viera & E85
    RF cables between SKy & VCR

    Any help would be much appreciated :)
     
  2. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,444
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,745
    I would have thought that you needed a scart between the Sky box and the E85. I think you can route the Sky through the e85 ie a scart goes from the Sky box to the E85 and then another out of the E85 into the TV.
    I only use my E85 to archive from my Sky+ box so am probably not the best to advise you about this.
     
  3. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +990
    Cheers John, that seems to make perfect sense. Why didn't I think of that :clown:

    I'd better go off and order another scart :eek:
     
  4. adrianl

    adrianl
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have an E85 but not Sky. However pretty sure you must connect sky to the av2 scart on the E85. There's a specific section in the manual on recording rgb from a sky feed, and from external box with timer.

    I know you can record from the viera's freeview tuner via epg timer setting when the plasma is off, but you have to route the dvb output and smartlink to the appropriate scart.
     
  5. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    In the viera settings you can change what it outputs to AV4. In your case you need to change it to output AV1 as that is the signal you wish to record.
    Equally ,if you want to record from its built in freeview, change it back to DVB at AV4 out.

    Altenatively use that extra scart from Sky AV2 to DVR AV2. This means you can use the sky personal planner to "wake up" the DVR. However, Sky AV2 does not output rgb so the quality , whilst ok, is not the best possible.
     
  6. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +990
    In the Viera manual it states the following:
    - that a DVD player/recorder should be connected to either AV1 or AV4
    - that a satellite receiver should be connected to either AV1 or AV4
    - that a VCR can be connected to any scart.

    By this logic I have Sky connected to AV1 (RGB); VCR connected to AV2 and E85 to AV4 (RGB) on the Panasonic Viera.

    When I used the timer record function, I did change the output to AV1. It did start to record Sky, however the recording terminated as soon as the plasma was switched off.

    I'm hoping the scart between the Sky box and E85 will fix this?
     
  7. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    It certainly will, as thats how mine is set up.
    Others here advocate a daisy chain, Sky/DVR/Plasma AV4.
    This means you record rgb. But you need the DVR switched on to view sky.

    One downside of connecting as I have is that when the DVR is playing a disc, it completely "takes over". Ie even viera AV1 shows the disc and not sky.Until you turn the DVR off. If you find a way of stopping this I'd be pleased to hear it.
     
  8. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +990
    Ok cheers happyh - just waiting for the scart now to test it out!

    This is how my previous set-up would work too, very annoying but got used to it after a while.

    I'll try and fiddle around with it again once I've got it setup and let you know how I get on!
     

Share This Page

Loading...