1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

E4 coming free to Terrestial and Satelite

Discussion in 'TV Show Forum' started by rogerh, May 5, 2005.

  1. rogerh

    rogerh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +10
    I see that E4 is pulling out of "Top Up TV" and going free to air on Freeviewat the end of this month. They will also be adding E4+1 as free to air.
    As that was the only reason anyone would have to pay for TUTV, does
    this mean another failure for UK pay to view via Digital Terrestial?
    It seems they want to pull out of the encryption deal with Sky and also go free to air on Satelite but this can't happen until the end of the current deal.
    So satelite viewers are once again paying for something they could get free!
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    If E4 was still the excellent PAY channel it was when launched I would regret it's loss from the PAY enviroment but it's long since moved to little more thana dumping ground for 24/7 BB/Salon and far too many shows that are on CH4 within months even days later.

    If you are a Family pack subscriber or higher it makes little or no difference (unless you pay X amount for just E4) but Ch4 signed binding contracts which makes you wonder how committed to FTA Dsat they really were at that time.
    I expect keeping E4 encrypted (for now) on Dsat also helps them since they still must have a few imports that are restricted due to broadcast rights.
     
  3. bradavon78

    bradavon78
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    3,192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West, England
    Ratings:
    +133
    What I can't work out though is it's still very much part of TopUPTV's line up.

    I hear it's coming at the end of May but adding channels doesn't find a new E4 channel so I presume the existing TopupTV one will continue but unencrypted? This makes TopupTV even more pointless IMO.
     
  4. belgrade

    belgrade
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is the situation regarding E4 digital cable, particularly Telewest? Will it be free to air, or still part of a pay package?
     
  5. ThirdWay

    ThirdWay
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    "Top Up Tv" - what a dismal, dull collection of repeats and lifestyle programmes that can easily be found elsewhere. Now that E4 is going free-to-air, let's hope Top Up sinks and the bandwidth is freed up for something better. I'd like to see ITV and CH4 on this mux as they're not otherwise available to me digitally. Film Four would be good too - it could be subscription like Xtraview where you ring up for an access code.

    I'd also like to see higher bit rates used for better picture quality - let's have fewer, higher quality channels! Some sort of governmental body should be overseeing the technical standards....
     
  6. bradavon78

    bradavon78
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    3,192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West, England
    Ratings:
    +133
    Freeview has ITV and C4 Thirdway???

    I'd pay a fiver for Sky One, MTV and UK Gold to name a few quality channels. UK Gold is the only decent one in the line up IMO but I'm not prepared to pay £19 for Sky.

    I know you can get it for a tenner but the channels you get are less quality than Freeview.

    Xtraview??? I agree a few top quality channels such as Filmfour would be tops.
     
  7. ThirdWay

    ThirdWay
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    "Freeview has ITV and C4 Thirdway???"

    Yes, but not on a Mux I can receive. Someone should co-ordinate the system so that the main channels will be widely available.
     
  8. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    I think TUTV is doomed now. Xtraview is already FTA and can be received legally by Nokia and Topfield owners
     
  9. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    31,415
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +6,174
    I might be mistaken but I thought I read that now that E4 was going to be on Freeview that it would be removed from the TopUp TV selection and a new channel would be added, sure I read this somewhere but there is no mention yet about what the new channel will be.

    At the moment I only really have TopUp TV for UKGold and E4 and £7.99 is abit much for repeats of Allo Allo and Black Adder so unless this new channel is something that will provide decent viewing I will cancel my subscription.
     
  10. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    E4 slot is currently being used for E4 via Tits up TV

    All they have to do is drop encryption
     
  11. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979


    No such thing as FTA on digital cable, you have to subscribe one way or another to even watch the BBC digital channels.
    It is expected to become part of the Base pack in NTL's lineup so perhaps a similar situation for TW (starter pack I believe?)depending upon the carriage contracts they have.
    Worth emailing TW and asking them pointing out that it's FTA on DTT so at the very least it should be included in the most basic channel package.
     
  12. bradavon78

    bradavon78
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    3,192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West, England
    Ratings:
    +133
    Xtraview???

    That's rubbish. I agree.

    I wonder what new channels TUTV will get.
     
  13. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    SInce the E4 service is their a C4 service I think that Tits Up will lose a stream! :thumbsup:
     
  14. bradavon78

    bradavon78
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    3,192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West, England
    Ratings:
    +133
  15. a271249

    a271249
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have just called TopupTv to ask what (if any) they will be replacing E4 with once it goes free on Friday. I was told there would be an announcment in the press at the end of the week. They would not tell me any more.

    Helpfull as always!
     
  16. PoochJD

    PoochJD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2000
    Messages:
    10,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +1,862
    Hi,

    I hate to say this folks, but E4 is NOT free-to-air on Sky or Cable! Only on Freeview!

    Sky viewers have to subscribe to the minimum Sky Digital package. If you don't, E4 remains blocked. Cable viewers, have to do likewise.

    Rotten :censored: 's!


    Pooch
     
  17. Rock Da Bass

    Rock Da Bass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,342
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    EU
    Ratings:
    +616
    That's a pity. I get Freesat with Sky+ for £10 p/m. Would've been nice to add E4 to the lineup.

    RDB
     
  18. bradavon78

    bradavon78
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    3,192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West, England
    Ratings:
    +133
    Thanks a271249.

    Time to re-order my channels to move E4 down to a suitable place (I love this feature on ex-On Digital boxes). I guess we'll have to look at their website on Friday.
     
  19. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Reordering channels is possible on most freeview boxes,not just On Digital ones.Even my Nan's puny Daewoo box can do it.
     
  20. bradavon78

    bradavon78
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    3,192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South West, England
    Ratings:
    +133
    Cool but NOT Sky boxes :D
     
  21. MattyKHZ

    MattyKHZ
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    284
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    Channel 4 has just stated it will be on Freeview from Friday. Think its in time for new Big Brother....
     
  22. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    31,415
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +6,174
    Think that was the plan, so everyone with a Freeview box can watch Big Brother 24/7 lol
     
  23. Evil Engineer

    Evil Engineer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    994
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +61
    Does anyone mind if I give the 24/7 Big Brother a miss ?

    I'd rather chop my left foot off with a rusty junior hack saw.

    More fun and less painful !
     
  24. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since when did Sky sell Freeview boxes?
     
  25. reevesy

    reevesy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,001
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,176
    dont know what all the fuss is about E4,apart from the sopranos i've always found pretty pants,just another way to bombard everyone with the spawn of the devil that is big brother. :mad:
     
  26. Ian C.

    Ian C.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +35
    Just for info E4,E4+1 and Men and Motors are
    are there now.M&M's is up and running but I
    had to tune it in, it did not auto tune I found it
    last night when removing some Top Up Tv channels
    that have appeared,one of which keeps tuning in
    again after removal.Strange the top up tv have appeared
    but not E4 and M&M's they require manual tuning in.
    E4(44)
    E4+1(52)
    Men&Motors(55)
    just notice 3 other new channels dont know if they are test
    channels or what as only just seen them.
    701(51)
    702(51)
    703(51)(dead at the moment)
    ABC1(47)
     
  27. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    31,415
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +6,174
    That is odd as I have had Men and Motors for nearly 2 weeks now on my Freeview boxes, it came up automatically the last time I did a channel update.
     
  28. Rock Da Bass

    Rock Da Bass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,342
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    EU
    Ratings:
    +616
    They don't, but they do Freesat (after many phone calls......lol)

    RDB
     
  29. Ian C.

    Ian C.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +35
    I have a Sony integrated tv dont know if thats
    the reason,just had a look and Top Up Tv is there
    again,it wont go away dam :D
     
  30. FruitBat

    FruitBat
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Ealing
    Ratings:
    +382
    701, 702, 703 are used by BBCi. ABC1 has been around for a few months, but I've never found anything worth watching on it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...