E-SATA 3.5" caddy

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by cygnusx04, Feb 5, 2009.

  1. cygnusx04

    cygnusx04
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South East
    Ratings:
    +36
    I'm using Virtual Machines more and more these days. Copying 40GB from an external drive via USB2 is not much fun. I'm wanting to move to the E-SATA interface.

    Can anyone recommend a decent 3.5" E-SATA caddy? I've looked at most but some seem to be restricted to 750GB, I want atleast 1TB (not sure why they are size restricted). I'm not too fussed about a fan (should i be?).

    I'm sorted for a 2.5" E-Sata caddy, but need to decent one for 3.5" and 1TB drives.
     
  2. graystreet

    graystreet
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Littlehampton, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +261
    I'm using a few of these with 1TB FI drives in them, work fine :thumbsup:

    Don't forget free delivery from Scan if you spend over £20. I bought a little 4GB pen drive for a little over a fiver to make up the price difference and it still worked out cheaper then paying the postage. :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2009
  3. cygnusx04

    cygnusx04
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    South East
    Ratings:
    +36
    smart - hadn't seen that one. Can you confirm it has a USB connection also? Specs say USB 1.1 :confused: surely not. USB 2.0 and E-SATA connections are preferable.

    Have you managed to get SATA 3.0gbps working or did you have to use a jumper and downgrade to SATA 1.5gbps?
     
  4. graystreet

    graystreet
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Littlehampton, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +261
    Yes it has got USB as well.

    It is USB2, says it on the front page, they must have got it wrong in the specs.

    I just got an E-SATA card for my PC, bunged it in the PCI-E slot, didn't have to change any jumpers or anything :thumbsup:

    Not sure about 3Gbps but I can copy a 28GB backup archive to it in about 8 minutes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...