Dvi

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Michaelknell, Mar 28, 2006.

  1. Michaelknell

    Michaelknell
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +15
    Any chance Sky will ship the HD boxes with a HD-DVI cable in there? Wishful thinking I imagine.
     
  2. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +122
    Not a chance I would say...

    John
     
  3. ukdan

    ukdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +85
    In the pdf sky installers guide, it states that its the customers responsability to purchase any adaptors before instalation. They will only supply HDMI-HDMI...
     
  4. wuf810

    wuf810
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone any suggestions as where to buy good quality HDMI to DVI cables?

    Thanks, Michael.
     
  5. Michaelknell

    Michaelknell
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +15
    Am I right in thinking that as it is digital it shouldn't matter what cable you go for?
     
  6. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +230
  7. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    See the poll on that very subject (as inconclusive as that obviously is)

    I got one of these
    http://www.euronetwork.co.uk/acatalog/HDMI_-_High_Definition_Multimedia_Interface.html

    BIG caveat: quality seems pretty robust, but haven't tried it yet.

    (and also, tmf as mentioned above are great, I've bought cables among other things from them recently & delighted with the service)
     
  8. Michaelknell

    Michaelknell
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +15
    Where is the poll?
     
  9. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
  10. Michaelknell

    Michaelknell
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +15
    Cheers. Just a side note question: Will a HDMI-DVI adapter make any quality difference. Seems mad to get a full cable if an adapter will do.

    EDIT: Also, will I have to look out for HDCP on the cable side of things too?
     
  11. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +230
    The adapters work fine, with or without HDCP, on all the kit that I have encountered.
     
  12. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +600
    it matters because presumably he only has DVI input on the display.....so will need a HDMI cable and HDMI-DVI adaptor, or HDMI-DVI adaptor and DVI cable.....

    if the run is short it doesnt matter which cable he uses, he cant get sound thru it anyhow so i'd go whichever route was cheaper.....

    if the run is longer then HDMI seems to survive longer runs better than DVI......
     
  13. Michaelknell

    Michaelknell
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +15
    So can anyone tell me what I'd be better getting please?
    HDMI-DVI cable or HDMI-DVI adapter to go onto the Sky HDMI-HDMI cable?
     
  14. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    I would get a single HDMI-DVI cable. Its one less connection to worry about and less bulky.

    I know of an issue with a certain display manufacturers displays that affected some DVI/HDMI adaptors that due to the extra bulk put enough extra strain, even though it was minimal and a screw fitting, on the DVI socket that the electro-mechanical fixing became unreliable.
     
  15. Michaelknell

    Michaelknell
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +15
    Thanks. Just have to find one now. At least I have plenty of time to make sure I get the right thing.
     
  16. Michaelknell

    Michaelknell
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +15
    I have been looking around for these since last night, and cannot find a HDMI-DVI-D cable that is a dual link one (25 pins). I can only find the single link ones (19 pins). Will a single link one work and if so, will it loose anything for being only single link?
     
  17. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    May I recommend the Molex cable 88768-3510 (2m HDMI/DVI) as a cost effective starting point. You should beable to pick one up from a reputable source for about £16 inc P&P, ie CPC/Farnell. Its a solid and well made cable unlike my previous generic one that I picked up on eBay that was half the cable diameter. Some people have reported quality differences comparted to a £100+ cable but since using this cable my HDMI/DVI interface has been 100% reliable so for me it was £16 well spent.
     
  18. Michaelknell

    Michaelknell
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +15
    OK, do you know anywhere to buy these from?
     
  19. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    Are the 25pin and 19pin ones compatible? i.e. can you mix & match?
     
  20. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    ok one googleage later ... so 24 pins are needed for dual link but a 19pin cable (which not so coincidentally matches 19pin HDMI) can carry the 5Gbps anyway.


    and they're usually (physically) compatible as people make the female plugs to 29 pin standard to avoid breaking 29 or 24 pin cables plugged into them even if the device only supports DVI-D Single.

    apparently.

    So get the one I linked to mate, earlier in this thread.
     
  21. jimmy50

    jimmy50
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I only have a dvi connection on my hd tv,this means that i need to supply a cable for hdmi to dvi. more money!:mad: i think thats pretty poor from sky. i expect that thousands of tvs only have dvi and dat sky would supply anything thats needed to get hd on a hd ready tv. is it official that customers with dvi connection only have to supply theit own hdmi to dvi cable?
     
  22. Michaelknell

    Michaelknell
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +15
    I think it's because at the moment only people who really want HDTV are going for it, so as far as Sky are confirmed if you want it that much you will pay for an extra cable.
     
  23. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    Yes. It's £20 for a cable, less for an adapter. Actually DVI isn't that common.
     
  24. senie

    senie
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should find its 18pin rather than 19 pin, according to my suppliers anyway
     
  25. shaithis

    shaithis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,668
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Last Aerie
    Ratings:
    +31
  26. Michaelknell

    Michaelknell
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +15
    There's 18 pins, plus another flat thing which I counted as a pin.
     
  27. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    They probably ignored the ground. It's 19 pin but the data is carried over 3 rows of 6 pins.
     
  28. sathelp

    sathelp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Southampton, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    My Samsung 745 DVD has only a DVI output not HDMI. When I got my PIO Plasma I had to convert it to HDMI as the new Pio's do not use DVI at all. I went on to ebay and bought a 1.8M HDMI 2 DVI Cable 24Ct Gold Plated cable from a seller for under a tenner including delivery. Absolutly fantastic, quality great at 720p and 1080i out of my DVD. Obviously had to use seperate audio but that aside, perfect solution for the DVD and it should be for those who do not have HDMI on their Plasma for SkyHD by using it in reverse (HDMI to DVI).

    Please do not get stuck in an expensive cable is better. For this distance in digital you could use telephone cable and you would get a dam good pic! These cables and longer are all over ebay from UK sellers, so give it a try.
     
  29. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    My cheap generic cable from eBay was of poor design. It gave me an intermittent fault. My replacement branded Molex cable cost a few quid more and has been 100% reliable. The cable is much thicker and HDMI plug is more secure. The cheap generic cable was inexpensive but caused alot of headaches.
     
  30. Michaelknell

    Michaelknell
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +15
    Which is the best of these two? I'd assume the left as it is shielded. Anyone know where I can buy it? I can't find anywhere.
     

Share This Page

Loading...