DVI -> VGA

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by shaithis, Apr 24, 2005.

  1. shaithis

    shaithis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Last Aerie
    Ratings:
    +30
    Having a spare VGA port on my plasma and wanting a better player I was wondering if its possible to hook up a DVI DVD player to the VGA in with a DVI > VGA dongle?

    If so are there any downsides/limitations?
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,392
    It's not as simple as that - when is it even in AV :rolleyes:

    DVI comes in 3 different versions:
    DVI-A - this is an analogue connection and basically the same signal as VGA, but on a DVI lead
    DVI-D - this is a digital only connection
    DVI-I - a combination of DVI-A & DVI-D on a single connection

    So if the DVD player is outputting either a DVI-A or DVI-I signal then you will be able to connect it to the VGA input on your plasma with a direct DVI to VGA lead and no conversion. But AFAIK, most if not all DVD players will be outputting DVI-D over the DVI connection and therefore there is no way of connecting a digital signal to an analogue input without conversion. It also gets more complicated as DVI-D (and HDMI) from a DVD player will almost certainly carry copy protection in the form of HDCP, which will in all cases prevent a conversion from digital to analogue - well legally at least :devil:

    Mark.
     
  3. english_bob

    english_bob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    1,487
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Maidstone, Kent
    Ratings:
    +168
    Jesus, what a great standard! :rolleyes:
     
  4. Kamakazie

    Kamakazie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    542
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    what about outputting through RGB scart and using the JS RGB>VGA converter??
     
  5. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,590
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    Yes, that should work fine.

    Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...