Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

DVI -> VGA

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by shaithis, Apr 24, 2005.

  1. shaithis

    shaithis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,668
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Last Aerie
    Ratings:
    +31
    Having a spare VGA port on my plasma and wanting a better player I was wondering if its possible to hook up a DVI DVD player to the VGA in with a DVI > VGA dongle?

    If so are there any downsides/limitations?
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,335
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,433
    It's not as simple as that - when is it even in AV :rolleyes:

    DVI comes in 3 different versions:
    DVI-A - this is an analogue connection and basically the same signal as VGA, but on a DVI lead
    DVI-D - this is a digital only connection
    DVI-I - a combination of DVI-A & DVI-D on a single connection

    So if the DVD player is outputting either a DVI-A or DVI-I signal then you will be able to connect it to the VGA input on your plasma with a direct DVI to VGA lead and no conversion. But AFAIK, most if not all DVD players will be outputting DVI-D over the DVI connection and therefore there is no way of connecting a digital signal to an analogue input without conversion. It also gets more complicated as DVI-D (and HDMI) from a DVD player will almost certainly carry copy protection in the form of HDCP, which will in all cases prevent a conversion from digital to analogue - well legally at least :devil:

    Mark.
     
  3. english_bob

    english_bob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    1,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Maidstone, Kent
    Ratings:
    +220
    Jesus, what a great standard! :rolleyes:
     
  4. Kamakazie

    Kamakazie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    559
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    what about outputting through RGB scart and using the JS RGB>VGA converter??
     
  5. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
    Yes, that should work fine.

    Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice