1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVI versus HDMI...or am I screwed

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Scotty01, Oct 3, 2005.

  1. Scotty01

    Scotty01
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Barrhead
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I bought a Samsung 42" plasma about a year ago which has a DVI input. I have since then bought a Panasonic SCHT1500 Hard Disk DVD Recorder which has HDMI input.

    Question is can link the two together, and to HD programs when they begin, either from SKY or anybody ?

    I've seen reports that DVI and HDMI can both receive HD signals but nothing which says I can hook the two together...

    Or as I say, am I screwed ?
     
  2. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    The're are plenty of HDMI to DVI and DVI - HDMI cables around now so you shouldn't have any problems. The only caveat is if your DVI input doesn't support HDCP you may have trouble hooking up a HDMI device, you may need to check this as I'm nott 100% sure.
     
  3. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    As above, converters are readily available, HDCP could be a problem if the display doesn't support it but there are already workarounds.
     
  4. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    in another thread someone mentioned all samsung screens with DVI support HDCP so what you have there is HDMI without audio :)
     
  5. Scotty01

    Scotty01
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Barrhead
    Ratings:
    +0
    Excellent news guys, thanks for the advice and glad my investment was not useless after all. I checked my TV and confirm it does indeed support HDCP.

    And for Chedmaster, I route all my inputs through my Panasonic and use its Home Cinema capabilities for sound anyway already so I assume I'm sorted on that front.

    Thanks again !
     
  6. scarty16

    scarty16
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,006
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +77
     
  7. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    a lot of people just call all sockets inputs, i think we can let him off and guess that its an output :smashin:
     
  8. scarty16

    scarty16
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,006
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +77
    :devil: I am not sure many of our lady friends would agree about outputs and inputs being classified as being the same
     

Share This Page

Loading...