DVI versus HDMI...or am I screwed

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by Scotty01, Oct 3, 2005.

  1. Scotty01

    Scotty01
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Barrhead
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I bought a Samsung 42" plasma about a year ago which has a DVI input. I have since then bought a Panasonic SCHT1500 Hard Disk DVD Recorder which has HDMI input.

    Question is can link the two together, and to HD programs when they begin, either from SKY or anybody ?

    I've seen reports that DVI and HDMI can both receive HD signals but nothing which says I can hook the two together...

    Or as I say, am I screwed ?
     
  2. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +292
    The're are plenty of HDMI to DVI and DVI - HDMI cables around now so you shouldn't have any problems. The only caveat is if your DVI input doesn't support HDCP you may have trouble hooking up a HDMI device, you may need to check this as I'm nott 100% sure.
     
  3. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    As above, converters are readily available, HDCP could be a problem if the display doesn't support it but there are already workarounds.
     
  4. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    in another thread someone mentioned all samsung screens with DVI support HDCP so what you have there is HDMI without audio :)
     
  5. Scotty01

    Scotty01
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Barrhead
    Ratings:
    +0
    Excellent news guys, thanks for the advice and glad my investment was not useless after all. I checked my TV and confirm it does indeed support HDCP.

    And for Chedmaster, I route all my inputs through my Panasonic and use its Home Cinema capabilities for sound anyway already so I assume I'm sorted on that front.

    Thanks again !
     
  6. scarty16

    scarty16
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +306
     
  7. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    a lot of people just call all sockets inputs, i think we can let him off and guess that its an output :smashin:
     
  8. scarty16

    scarty16
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +306
    :devil: I am not sure many of our lady friends would agree about outputs and inputs being classified as being the same
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice