DVI to HDMI with sound?

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Msmith993, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. Msmith993

    Msmith993
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    :lease:So I have an ATI Radeon HD 3800 graphics card with an ATI branded DVI t0 HDMI adapter on the back. From there I have an HDMI cable goin gto my Samsung HD TV. I was under the impression that I could get sound through the HDMI cable, but ive got nothing. I read on another post here that you needed the ATI DVI adapter to get sound using the same card I had, so i returned an off brand and got this one. Does anyony have any idea what I can do to get sound to the TV.
     
  2. StevieBuck

    StevieBuck
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +674
    I'm pretty sure that sound isn't transmitted through DVI - so you'll need a separate audio cable.
     
  3. FRS2462

    FRS2462
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    AFAIK you need to set the audio output on your sound card to SPDIF out and this should enable the sound to be carried over HDMI from GPU.
    That is what I did for my 4870 but I am not entirely sure if the 3800 series is the same.
    You will need to install this driver if you haven't already done so ATI HDMI Audio Device R2.14
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2009
  4. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    757
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +316
    If you're using Vista then it should pick it up automatically and there'll be an "HDMI Audio" device in Sounds in Control Panel - just select that as the default output.

    What colour is your adapter, out of interest? The original ATI adapters which included the extra connections for sound (they hijack a few unused pins on the DVI connector which is why you need a special adapter with these wired up) were designed for the 29xx series and were black. The 38xx series needs a different adapter which is grey in colour. If you're using a black one then you need a grey one (I made the same mistake myself).

    HTH :)
     
  5. thomp256

    thomp256
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's correct. But, there should be a separate audio output on the card.
     
  6. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    757
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +316
    Standard DVI doesn't carry sound but what ATI have done is co-opt a few unused pins on the connector to output sound. Normally these pins aren't used and so standard DVI-HDMI adapters don't have them connected which is why you need ATI's own "special" ones which connect these extra pins to the relevant HDMI pins.

    The latest ATI Catalyst drivers can detect the presence of these adapters and will warn you about HDMI not carrying sound if you plug in an HDMI device via a standard adapter.
     
  7. thomp256

    thomp256
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Didn't know that. Sounds like a great idea.:thumbsup:
     
  8. connorjordan

    connorjordan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    where can I order one of these adapters
     
  9. Tkrockeruk

    Tkrockeruk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +54
    hard to find a UK retailer, ATi only sell them in canada and the US.

    However there are UK sellers on ebay, they number sell for around £12 plus p+p which is a little expensive for somehthing that would otherwise cost a couple of quid if you could buy direct.

    I'm just toying with the idea of buying a bulk lot of 50 items, as a retailer in the US would do this for the same postage as one, then sell them here for cheaper than on ebay aiming to cover the cost of postage.
     
  10. davec200i

    davec200i
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys, please excuse the old thread bump here, but dont suppose anyone knows which adaptor will work for the 3450 (its actually the asus AH3450 one)

    TIA
     

Share This Page

Loading...