1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVI Splitter

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Nostromo426, Feb 20, 2005.

  1. Nostromo426

    Nostromo426
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure if this is the right forum but here goes.
    My PC graphics card has DVI out currently feeding my Sony LCD pc monitor.
    I also wish to send this signal to my TH-50PHD7 plasma DVI input blade.
    My question - is there a cabling "box" that accepts DVI input from my PC graphics card with 2 DVI out (DVI in=1/DVI out=2)

    Any suggestions would be appreciated
     
  2. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
  3. Nostromo426

    Nostromo426
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the link Joe - I'll check it out
     
  4. hjkrebs

    hjkrebs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Specifications:
    • Video Amplifier Bandwidth 2.4 GHz
    • Actual Bandwidth: 1.65 GHz
    • Input Video Signal: 1.2 Volts p-p
    • Input Sync Signal: 5 Volts p-p (TTL)
    • Single Link Range: 1080P/1900x1200 @60HZ
    • DVI Connector: Molex 24 pin female connector
    • USB Input Connectors: Type “B”
    • USB Output Connectors: Type ”A”
    • Video In: DVI-I Dual Link
    • Video out:DVI-I Dual Link
    • Power Supply: 12 VDC

    Joe, this 60Hz, does that mea that this DVI switch only work switching computer video, and not Home cinema Video?
     
  5. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
    Hello hjkrebs

    We use both Gefen and Zektor Digital Switchers in many UK and Euro systems with no problems - same goes for the Gefen and Zektor Distribution amps; we have plenty of multiple input systems with all sorts of signals being switched and distributed.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  6. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,371
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,487
    I'm probably going to need something like this as I want to connect the DVI output of my HTPC to both my Sanyo Z3 and my soon to arrive Sagem HD-D45. Obviously at the moment HDCP isn't an issue for me but it may well be in the future so thinking ahead do I need the HDMI splitter since that seems to be the only one that passes HDCP through both outputs? Is it ok to use a DVI->HDMI adaptor to connect my HTPC to this and then use HDMI->DVI adaptors to connect my projector and Sagem TV?

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  7. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
    Hello zAndy1

    The HDMI and DVI adapters we use do seem to be 'transparent' so no problems adapting existing cables - where possible I try and avoid adapters but its not always possible.

    Best regards

    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...