1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVI or SVGA?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by jborer, Mar 3, 2004.

  1. jborer

    jborer
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Should I connect my computer to my projector via DVI or SVGA? My graphics card has a spare DVI-I connector and my projector has a DVI-D connector. I could connect to this via presumably a DVI-D cable, but I really need it to be about 10 meters long. I am struggling to find a cable this long at a reasonable price, plus I have read that some graphics cards might not be able to use a cable longer than 5 meters (my graphics card is a Sapphire Radeon 9600 pro).

    The other option I was considering was using a DVI to 15pin Dsub connector, and running a 10 or 15 meter SVGA cable to the projector.

    Is there any particular reason why I shouldn't do this? Will DVI give better resolution or performance somehow?

    Finally can you buy these cables flat so they can be discretely hidden under a carpet?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,572
    jborer

    Not sure if you'd say they were reasonably priced or not but we stock and supply the BetterCables Display Magic DVI-D to DVI-D at up to 9m - and get excellent results with PC's and Video sources.

    See http://www.bettercables.com/dvicables.html

    Using the Digital out from your graphics card should in theory produce a less processed and error free image on the projector.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  3. J8NTS

    J8NTS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just hooked up my HS20 to my PC via a 7.5m Lindy DVI-D cable last night, with great results, and cost < £30.

    The graphics card I'm using is a Prophet Radeon 9600 256MB. Feeding just the HS20 gives an excellent and detailed picture. Running my CRT and the HS20 at the same time results in fine horizontal lines appearing on both displays. This is probably a weakness of this Radeon rather than anything else.

    Lindy also sell a 10m version of this cable, but I haven't tried this.

    Jon.
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,572
    J8NTS

    I've sold a fair few of the BetterCables Display Magic cables to folk who have tried the Lindy 10m cables and had problems with drop out and or speckled images - remember DVI is only really designed for around 4m!

    Unless you are putting a signal amp in the cable run you have to ensure your video cable is designed to work un-amplified at these long lengths.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  5. J8NTS

    J8NTS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Joe

    Yeah, I know. In fact, the Lindy web site does state that ANYTHING over 7.5m exceeds spec. And this is why I said I hadn't tried the 10m cable.

    Having said that I still think it's an option, and a relatively cheap option, worth trying if you want DVI and can't go for less length.

    Just out of interest, how much does a BetterCables 9-10m DVI-D cable cost, and what success rate does those have?

    Jon.
     
  6. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,572
    Hello Jon

    The BetterCables DVI-D-9-DL cable retails for 210USD in the US and you should find our UK pricing pretty competitive with that; drop me a note for an exact price as the Forum rules state I shouldn't post prices.

    So far we've had near 100% success with the 9m Display Magic DVI cable - we had one returned that produced no picture on a Sanyo Z2; though I believe that was a Sanyo issue as I have other Sanyo users (myself included) who have had success with the 9m cable.

    Were also running the 9m Display Magic cable PLUS a 2m DVI to HDMI cable using a Gefen back to back adapter with great results (from an HDMI source); so we can go past 9m.

    Where we need to go to 15m with a DVI signal we now supply the Gefen HDTV range of DVI switches and hubs that include a signal regenerator and use the BetterCables cables either side of the Gefen switches.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  7. J8NTS

    J8NTS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    That certainly sound like you’ve got a quality cable. Fortunately for me I was able to get away using 7.5m, albeit with a slight rearrangement.

    I’m interested in your experiences with the HDMI, though. I assume you’re going from a HDMI source to the adapter and into a DVI-D input on the display device (projector?). Is it possible to go the other way: DVI-D output to HDMI input, and would there be any advantage?

    Thinking specifically about the HS20 here. The DVI input seems a little restrictive in what the Sony will accept. I, like many, am currently restricted to 1368x768x56Hz. Just wondering if the HS20 would accept a 1080i signal via HDMI, assuming the source could output this.

    Regards

    Jon
     
  8. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,572
    J8NTS

    We've had both HDMI to DVI and DVI to HDMI running with passive back to back adapters - where its an HDMI source you do usually have to ensure your DVI equipped Display is HDCP compliant.

    As for running differing resolutions on your Sony you would have to try it first to ensure its all compatible - possibly I could do a sale or return on the required cables for you.

    Best regards

    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...