DVI or Component - which is better

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by ehr, Sep 28, 2005.

Tags:
  1. ehr

    ehr
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I have a customer who bought a 42" TV which has no DVI input. He was very unhappy with the quality of the picture through SCART and then overrjoyed when he saw how good it is through component.

    An engineer who advised him insisted to me afterwards that component is far better than DVI for HDTV. Is this correct?

    Also, the screen is 1910 x 1100. Is there any to use this resoluton without DVI input?

    Patrick (feeling particualry clueless today)
     
  2. gareth78

    gareth78
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +1
    DVI or HDMI are both superior to component as both these connections are true digital, component only offers a analogue signal.
     
  3. ehr

    ehr
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So are 42" tellies with no DVI or HDMI input going to be worth having in a digital world? Feeling a bit worried I might have bought a set of lemons :-(
     
  4. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +292
  5. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +292
    The only reason you may feel at a loss is if you planned to watch HD TV in the future. Although HiDef can be displayed via component, if the content it is HDCP encoded then you'll need a DVI or HDMI connection.
     
  6. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    I am bit worried that you are a retailer and do not the answers! :devil:
     
  7. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,312
    All isn't lost. You can still buy 'black boxes' that convert DVI-HDCP to Analogue VGA, if your display has such an input. As far as I know, they are entirely legal for this very legitimate purpose.

    Go to www.keene.co.uk and search product code DVIFIX.
     
  8. ehr

    ehr
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks all for both the info and the very useful links.

    So in summary, a 42" TV with a 1920 x 1080 reslution screen but no DVI is a good investment for anyone except those who expect to need access to HDCP encoded content.

    Not bad. thought I'd have to sell them as big monitors :)
     
  9. ehr

    ehr
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Me too ;-)

    Seriously, I'm easily pleased. I've learnt not to assume that just because is good enough for me that its good enough to offer to the public.
     
  10. chowells

    chowells
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You'd be in trouble in the US due to the DMCA but I suspect you'd be OK in europe. Does it have a legitimate HDCP licence? If so there's always the problem that the it could stop working if the licence was revoked.
     
  11. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,312
    I have no idea, but I'll be buying it soon. It'll be worth it even it's just to extend the life of my display for awhile longer. I'll need a VGA to Component transcoder AS WELL though :rolleyes:
     
  12. rik1471

    rik1471
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Component will provide a very very close 2nd best image to DVI/HDMI - most people won't be able to notice any difference at all.

    Remember XBox 360 HD will be component only, Sky+ HD will have component output, so all is not lost.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice