Dvi on playstation 3?

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by chemicalbrother, Oct 24, 2005.

  1. chemicalbrother

    chemicalbrother
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know the playstation 3 has hdmi connection and the anologue connection composite and s video and component but will it have a dvi connection? or some sort of hdmi to dvi adaptor?
     
  2. matt_p

    matt_p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    You can buy HDMI > DVI adapters for a few quid, or HDMI > DVI cables for a bit more.
     
  3. chemicalbrother

    chemicalbrother
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    what like the vga to dvi adaptors? that sort, will this affect picture quality in any way?
    thanks for replying

    dan
     
  4. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    It may not be possible with the PS3 to use VGA as it doesnt support HDCP.
    The PS3 will only work with HDMI or DVI-D with HDCP.
    Thats one of the downsides of having a Blu Ray drive in the PS3.
    (Blu Ray will only work with HDCP conections)
     
  5. matt_p

    matt_p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    VGA > DVI adapters are used when going from DVI-I (DVI-integrated) to VGA (or vice versa). DVI-I sends both analogue and digital signals, the analogue signal being the same as VGA. You're not seeing a drop in pic quality, you're just seeing the analogue one.

    HDMI > DVI should give you an identical picture, although some source/display combinations can see slight differences due to different colourspace info being sent over HDMI/DVI. Best to just try it and see I'm afraid! If you can adjust colourspace info, sometimes this can correct problems.
     
  6. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    The type of DVi used in plasmas and LCDs is DVI-D. (With HDCP)
    Its not the same as DVI-I. (No HDCP)

    DVI-D is interchangable with HDMI but DVI-I isnt.
     
  7. matt_p

    matt_p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    Not sure where you got your info from... Example off the top of my head, Philips 9986 LCD has a HDCP enabled DVI-I socket. DVI-A obviously can't carry HDCP, as it is all analogue. But I can't think of any screens with DVI-A, so that's a moot point.

    Being DVI-D isn't a guarantee of HDCP compatibility, nor is DVI-I a guarantee of incompatibility. It's up to the manufacturers whether they put it in. :lesson:
     
  8. chemicalbrother

    chemicalbrother
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah i was thinking of some thing complicated getting in the way of that, yeah i was thinking hdcp would be needed dam oh well ill have 2 get one of them amazing 26inch samsung lcd monitors!!!!!!!!!! lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...