1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dvi on playstation 3?

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by chemicalbrother, Oct 24, 2005.

  1. chemicalbrother

    chemicalbrother
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know the playstation 3 has hdmi connection and the anologue connection composite and s video and component but will it have a dvi connection? or some sort of hdmi to dvi adaptor?
     
  2. matt_p

    matt_p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    845
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    You can buy HDMI > DVI adapters for a few quid, or HDMI > DVI cables for a bit more.
     
  3. chemicalbrother

    chemicalbrother
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    what like the vga to dvi adaptors? that sort, will this affect picture quality in any way?
    thanks for replying

    dan
     
  4. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    It may not be possible with the PS3 to use VGA as it doesnt support HDCP.
    The PS3 will only work with HDMI or DVI-D with HDCP.
    Thats one of the downsides of having a Blu Ray drive in the PS3.
    (Blu Ray will only work with HDCP conections)
     
  5. matt_p

    matt_p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    845
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    VGA > DVI adapters are used when going from DVI-I (DVI-integrated) to VGA (or vice versa). DVI-I sends both analogue and digital signals, the analogue signal being the same as VGA. You're not seeing a drop in pic quality, you're just seeing the analogue one.

    HDMI > DVI should give you an identical picture, although some source/display combinations can see slight differences due to different colourspace info being sent over HDMI/DVI. Best to just try it and see I'm afraid! If you can adjust colourspace info, sometimes this can correct problems.
     
  6. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    The type of DVi used in plasmas and LCDs is DVI-D. (With HDCP)
    Its not the same as DVI-I. (No HDCP)

    DVI-D is interchangable with HDMI but DVI-I isnt.
     
  7. matt_p

    matt_p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    845
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    Not sure where you got your info from... Example off the top of my head, Philips 9986 LCD has a HDCP enabled DVI-I socket. DVI-A obviously can't carry HDCP, as it is all analogue. But I can't think of any screens with DVI-A, so that's a moot point.

    Being DVI-D isn't a guarantee of HDCP compatibility, nor is DVI-I a guarantee of incompatibility. It's up to the manufacturers whether they put it in. :lesson:
     
  8. chemicalbrother

    chemicalbrother
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah i was thinking of some thing complicated getting in the way of that, yeah i was thinking hdcp would be needed dam oh well ill have 2 get one of them amazing 26inch samsung lcd monitors!!!!!!!!!! lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...