DVI Help!

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by scoooby, May 3, 2004.

  1. scoooby

    scoooby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Can anyone tell me which is the best DVI player???
     
  2. rosemanbridge

    rosemanbridge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    DVD players with DVI outputs usually work best.
     
  3. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Well thats cleared that up then :p

    :laugh:
     
  4. scoooby

    scoooby
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    That's a great help. Thanks.

    I thought this forum was setup as an information resource- if you have not got anything positive to contribute then just don't bother.
     
  5. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Chill mate :)

    Apparently the Arcam DVI moded players are rated highly on this site. But I have never seen one in action. Do a search and loads will come up ;)

    Have you thought of HDMI?
     
  6. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +6
    Dvi players are few and far between and its a technology that about to be finished before it has started. The few dvd players that use dvi are either very £££ like the marantz 8400 or the denonA11 or rather cheap like the yamaswaca(or whatever it's called) and the samsung. (great picture but sacrafises have to be made)
    My advise would be to give up on dvi unless you can afford the £1500 for the marantz denon.
    But even then i would still wait and see what hdmi players are coming round the corner.(hdmi is compatabe with dvi.)

    Hdmi players to look at, are the pioneer 868 and it's little brother 668 and the Arcam 79.
    Both 868 and dv79 are about a £1000 and represent the best of whats available IMO for under a grand.
    But just around the corner Toshiba, Panasonic and other makers are all Starting to create HDMi players that will retail for £300 up and should make the next leap more affordable.
    Hope this helps
     
  7. weyland-yutani

    weyland-yutani
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,783
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +103
    so a tv which can accept a DVI imput will be able to take a HDMI input, aswell?
     
  8. JohnWH

    JohnWH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +82
    If your DVI input includes HDCP support then you'll be OK, if it doesn't you may have problems...
     
  9. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +6
    As John says.
    If your plasma accepts HDCP then you would be able to get a hdmi to dvi cable that will do the trick.
    (HDCP is coding that is on most new disks. If your plasma is newish then it should be ok.) Check in the manual.
    Dc
     
  10. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,592
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +280
    Hi clancol,

    HDCP is not on DVD disks, it is added by the player when outputting a digital picture as required by the DVD licensing "police". However not all player manufacturers play by the rules. ;)

    Steve
     
  11. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +6
    fair enough
     
  12. fulllupo

    fulllupo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +25
    Sorry to hi-jack, but does the new Hitachi 32pd5200 have this HDCP stuff on its DVI input? I am looking to get this model but wanted to make sure its future proof and will go with the new Samsung HTDS all in one system which has HDMI.

    Also will this give a better picture than Component progressive scan?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...