DVI-d & DVI-a Difference???

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by SoloSid, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. SoloSid

    SoloSid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all

    I'm looking to connect my HTPC via the Dvi to my 'new'
    onkyo 605 into the hdmi port...

    questions as follows...

    whats the difference between -d & -a ???

    How can i find out which i have ???

    what difference would it make to picture connecting through the DVI to HDMI instead of the VGA cable directly to the TV ???

    I realise DVI will not carry sound and this is done though twin phono cable already


    cheers

    Mark
     
  2. Jamie

    Jamie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,289
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +1,368
    d is digital. equivalent to HDMI without sound and can be used with a HDMI adapter. You'll find you need to use a HDTV resolution to make it work so resolution choice is not so wide as using VGA or a dedicated PC DVD-D
    a is analogue. generall carries a component signal

    I is both, i.e can accept/transmit d and a.

    Whats your graphics card?
     
  3. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +662
  4. SoloSid

    SoloSid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    its a geforce 7600 gs


    cheers

    Mark
     
  5. Jamie

    Jamie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,289
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Ratings:
    +1,368
    AS far as I can tell your GPU isn't HDCP enabled. but it is DVI-I i,e can be used either digitally (into HDMI) or analogue (into VGA port) so the choice is yours
     

Share This Page

Loading...