1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dvi-d And Dvi-i?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by gandley, Nov 11, 2003.

  1. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    Whats the difference between these 2.
    Is it just that one is digital and one is analogue?

    i notice the optoma H56 has a DVI-I so does that mean it will not except a signal from a dvd player that outputs DVI-D?

    actualy thinkin about it that kinda makes sense. but not sure



    D
     
  2. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,562
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    Gandley,

    DVI-I can accept digital and analogue RGB signals. Just remember you can't put a DVI-I plug into a DVI-D socket due to the extra pins.

    Steve
     
  3. stubie_do

    stubie_do
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +33
    The DVi on the H56 will handle RGB progressive not interlaced.

    DVI-D - True Digital Video

    DVI-D format is used for direct digital connections between source video (namely, video cards) and digital LCD (or rare CRT) monitors. This provides a faster, higher-quality image than with analogue, due to the nature of the digital format. All video cards initially produce a digital video signal, which is converted into analogue at the VGA output. The analogue signal travels to the monitor and is re-converted back into a digital signal. DVI-D eliminates the analogue conversion process and improves the connection between source and display.

    DVI-I - The Best of Both Worlds

    DVI-I format is an integrated cable, which is capable of transmitting either a digital-to-digital signal or an analogue - to-analogue signal, but it will not work transmitting a digital-to-analogue or analogue-to-digital signal.

    Like any other format, DVI digital and analogue formats are non-interchangeable. This means that a DVI-D cable will not work on an analogue system, nor a DVI-A on a digital system. Make sure that you know what format each part of your equipment is before you purchase any DVI cables. Only equipment with a DVI port labelled 'DVI-I' will accept both a DVI-D and DVI-A source signal.

    Regards
     
  4. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    Thanks stuart, that was realy helpful

    So the H56 will except DVI-D, thats good but shame it is not HDCP compatable as for home cinema this input is a bit useless other than using a computer

    Ohwell



    D
     
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    PMFJI :) .. would I be right in thinking therefore that with a Radeon video card which has a DVI socket into which one can plug a DVI->VGA adptor, that this is a DVI-I socket?

    Is there a specifically DVI-I cable or can/does one use a DVI-D or DVI-A?

    Ta
     
  6. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    from what i gather llookin on dabs.com website DVI-I and DVI-D are to different connectors.

    but dvi-d signal can be sent to a dvi-i input

    just stuck me head round back of computer case and my nvidia
    5900ultra looks to have a dvi-d out put so i think radeon will be the same
     
  7. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    My Radeon's at home, none here .. but if it IS DVD-D how can a DVI->VGA adaptor work, AFAIK It's simply a pin-to-pin connector with not electronics inside?

    :confused:
     
  8. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    my older radeon is a dvi-I, so it will work with a adaptor to vga. As far as I can see, the dvi-D and dvi-I are identical apart from a few extra pins on the I?

    ad
     
  9. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    Hangon i best check again.

    OOOPPPSS
    iwas wrong. my nvidia is DVI-I out so can plug straight in. thats cool.

    as there is no hdcp is this a digital pic from PC.? so isnt this a way around HDCP?
     
  10. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    DVI I allows analogue and digital connections. The digital bits are on 4 twisted pairs and these sit on all this small pins. The analogue bit sits on the four larger pins that are much larger (to the right in a sort of square around a cross arrangement).

    DVI I output sockets therefore allow you to plug DVI D cables in with no problem, or those little adaptors that allow normal analogue HD15 style sockets.

    DVI D sockets do not allow DVI I cables to be plugged in (because of those extra four analogue pins), at least some have to be ‘pulled’ The do allow DVI D cables to be used. The dongles are dumb devices and are therefore irrelevant here.

    I ONLY use DVI D cables for several reasons. 1, I don’t want analogue out of these cables at all! 2, My cables can be used everywhere. 3, The little dongles to get analogue output from DVD I are more than adaquate if you need analogue from a DVD I connector.

    The DVI I sounds the best of both worlds but the last thing you need is an analogue signal screwing up the digital one and why use DVI for an analogue signal in the first place!

    AV people are interested in a digital connection, therefore I suggest you may well be much better off sticking to DVI D cables.
     
  11. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    No, because AIUI a protected signal won't pass through a non-HDCP compliant interface .. no idea of the tech. behind it nor exactly what happens but I believe the end result is no useful picture.

    Beekeeper: thanks for that clear explanation. :smashin:
     
  12. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    So if my video card had a set of 8x3 holes and 4 holes arranged around a cross its a DVI-I socket.
    My plasma is 8x3 holes plus 1 larger slot, its a DVI-D socket.
    My cable is a 8x3 pins plus 1 larger slotted pin, its a DVI-D cable.

    Am I right in thinking that all these are compatable to use together?

    Still don't know what "double link" & "single link" is

    Regards
    John
     
  13. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    yeah sounds right a dvi-d cable will plug into a dvi-i socket but not the other way round so u should have no probs
     
  14. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    John

    you are fine

    single link has a 5Gb capability, it is doubled up for future 10Gb resolutions by just adding a second identical link. just by Dual and digital and be done with it all.
     
  15. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers guys
     

Share This Page

Loading...