1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVI cut cable

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by SeriousPigeon, Sep 9, 2005.

  1. SeriousPigeon

    SeriousPigeon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Amersham
    Ratings:
    +33
    Does anyone know where you can buy high quality DVI cut cable i.e. without the connectors on each end?

    Thanks
     
  2. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    unlikely, don't even think DIY.....
     
  3. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
    Hello Perplexed

    I was tempted to post that I can cut the ends off of a 15m BetterCables Display MagicII cable for you if you want - not sure what you'll do with it once the ends are off it mind.

    Then I thought better of it :)

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  4. SeriousPigeon

    SeriousPigeon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Amersham
    Ratings:
    +33
    I hate having wires and cables on display so whilst I am rewiring my lounge I am going to hide all the AV cables.
    I will be runnning component cables under the floor and connecting them to component wall plates. This will allow me to setup a projector at some time in the future without having to hide the cables all over again.
    I wanted to do the same for DVI as well. Although you cannot buy DVI wall plates, it is easy to buy a blank wall plate and a DVI socket. However, getting the cable is proving difficult, especially as it has to be high quality cable because of the distance involved.
     
  5. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
  6. SeriousPigeon

    SeriousPigeon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Amersham
    Ratings:
    +33
    Thanks. Guess my googling abilities are not upto scratch.
    Will look into the CAT5e option then.
     
  7. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
    Hello perplexed

    You need to be clear if you want/require HDCP compatibility or not and what maximum cable length you will require when specifying your cable requirements.

    Gefen have different CAT5 transmitters/receivers depending on max cable length, signal resolution and HDCP or not.

    The CAT5 system works well - though if your not going for very long runs the HDTV DVI Extreme Fibre cables work very well and are about the same price up to about 66' (20m).

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  8. SeriousPigeon

    SeriousPigeon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Amersham
    Ratings:
    +33
    Thanks.
    Quite pricey to hide a cable though.
    Think I may have to live with the fact that the projector will be component only.
    Either that or have the DVD player on the wrong side of the room.
     
  9. gazzerdaman

    gazzerdaman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chelmsford
    Ratings:
    +5
    Lets automate www.letsautomate.com do DVi faceplates - basically you install a premade DVI cable in the wall/floor and then plug each end into the faceplate. Means you get a perfect termination
     
  10. SeriousPigeon

    SeriousPigeon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Amersham
    Ratings:
    +33
    That's pretty much what I want, but £70! They really know how to fleece the customer.
    It is a wall pate with a double ended DVI socket. Materials costs for that is about £5 tops.
     
  11. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
  12. SeriousPigeon

    SeriousPigeon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Amersham
    Ratings:
    +33
    Thanks for all the help guys.
    All I have to do now is cut a channel in my concrete subfloor to run the cables in! :suicide:
     

Share This Page

Loading...