1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVI Connectors - Just checking

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Richard Moore, Nov 4, 2003.

  1. Richard Moore

    Richard Moore
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Watford
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been reading a couple of threads concerning Infocus DVI and cables. Am I right in thinking that these two cables are all I need for an Infocus 5700 connecting to a DVI equipped Brainwave DVD player.

    The main cable

    and the adaptor

    Thanks
     
  2. venkman

    venkman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Keighley
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yes, although I think there is a cheaper adapter available. We're only talking a few quid difference though.
     
  3. reggs

    reggs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +2
    The 5700's DVI connector is not your standard PC shape.
    I bought my adapter from Farnell Online in order to use it with a standard digital PC DVI cable.

    3293907, £4.15, ADAPTOR DVI-D F TO P&D-D M, Manufacturer (Advertised) MOLEX n.b. Its female to male.
     
  4. Kam the Man

    Kam the Man
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I'm using the same lead to connect my Radeon 9700 with my z2 (the days are just going toooo slowly!) will I need the adaptor?

    Cheers.

    Kam.
     
  5. reggs

    reggs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +2
    Can't guarantee it ( I don't have your setup), but I'd imagine so. I had a Radeon 9500 connected to my Sony HS10 by a standard (PC) DVI cable. The Infocus is a different type of DVI connector, its P&D and non standard in PC connector terms.
    There's loads of literature available on the web about DVI and the various standards. The Farnell adapter is required if you have a standard PC DVI cable (thats digital DVI). From what I remember, Farnell had a pdf file with pictures of the pins. One side needs to connect to your DVI cable. The weird side with more pins fits the Infocus. Check it out. Should be fine.
     
  6. venkman

    venkman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Keighley
    Ratings:
    +4
    You will not need the adaptor with a Z2 - it has a normal dvi connector. You just need a normal DVI male/male cable.
     
  7. reggs

    reggs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +2
    Woops sorry guys :blush:
    Thought this was still about the Infocus. No, you don't need it with the Z2 :eek:
     
  8. Kam the Man

    Kam the Man
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice, thanls guys.

    Mine just arrived from Lindys. 2nd Class delivery but got it within 3 days. And order was placed AFTER the postal strike! :eek:

    Postman said that loads of people still waiting for special delivery stuff :laugh:
     

Share This Page

Loading...