1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dvi Cables

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by tahirti3, May 18, 2003.

  1. tahirti3

    tahirti3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +0
    ANYONE TRIED USING A DVI CABLE AROUND 12 METRES LONG?ANY PROBLEMS?AND WHERE CAN I GET ONE FROM?
     
  2. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    All capitals is interpreted as shouting...............
     
  3. tahirti3

    tahirti3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry didn't mean to shout ,but can't type to save my life.
     
  4. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    My post was a bit abrupt,I didn't mean to come across as having a pop at you. :smoke:

    Don't know about DVI at that length, Know VGA is ok with it. This place isn't the busiest at the weekends, someone will b along sooner or later who can give you more info.

    All the best,

    Sean G.
     
  5. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    7.5m is the "DVI standard" maximum length. Some here have had success with 10m - some have had problems & returned 10m cables & replaced them with 7.5m versions.

    Pretty much "suck it & see", but only 7.5m is guaranteed - depends very much on the resolution you need to send & the "sending" hardware.

    Lindy are probably the best suppliers (in the UK) of DVI cables - I've dealt with them & they come highly recommended.

    Been using one of their 7.5m DVI cables with 1366x768 res to a HS10 with no problems.

    :smoke:
     
  6. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +1,956
    Good price too.

    Looks like I'll have to buy one just to see. :)

    Gary.
     
  7. tahirti3

    tahirti3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +0
    please tell me the benefits of using dvi over componant.i am using a sharp pgm20x and denon 2800mk2.i will be using a pc if i go the dvi way.
    thanks
     
  8. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    I have seen a 20m DVI cable working fine, it is alldown to length vs bandwidth.
     
  9. tahirti3

    tahirti3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +0
    beekeeper,any idea where i might get a longer than normal lead?
     
  10. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,562
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    Hi taherti3,

    You can get fibre optic DVI cables from www.pacificcable.com from 33' up to an unbelievable 495'! Mind you, they do cost from $435 to $3250! :eek:

    Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...