1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVI cable quality

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by steve0, Sep 11, 2004.

  1. steve0

    steve0
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +32
    Currently Im running from my computer to my panny6 via dvi cable which is a 3 metre run.
    My question is will I notice much difference in picture quaility if I used a more expensive cable rather than the one Im using at the minute which came with my PC. Thanks
     
  2. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    I tried using a $100 DVi cable and notice NO or very little difference!

    However, I took that cable and used it in a very different way.
    My plasma TV (Fujitsu) has the receiver conected to the actual panel by DVi.

    It was the cable that came with the TV and was a 3m cable which felt very thin.
    So I changed it for my 1m 100dollar cable and saw a massive improvement in picture quality! I was well surprised!
    Look slike the weak link in my set up was the receiver to panel cable!

    The picture is much richer, brighter, sharper and the colours more vivid!

    PC wise, the only difference ive ever seen is between RGB (analog) and DVi (digital). The cables themselves dont seem to matter too much, still if you want peace of mind, get a slightly better one for say 30quid or so?

    Also, length. The shorter the better. If the cable is long i feel that you loose picture quality as the picture might degrade over a long cable.
     
  3. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,471
    steve0

    More expensive is not a guarantee you'll see an improvement :)

    What resolutions are you looking to run and we can make some suggestions.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  4. steve0

    steve0
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +32
    The Panny 6 only goes upto 800*600 resolution so any ideas on a cable :smashin:
     
  5. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    now, ive been doing A LOT of research on DVi cables over tha lastfew days and discoverd that there are 5, yes, 5 :eek: kinds of DVi cables.

    here: http://www.datapro.net/techinfo/dvi_info.html

    I found that it does in fact depend on your needs. for example, my plasma requires a Dual 24pin DVi-D cable to work.

    This is the best type of DVi cable as it accepts the highest resolutions.

    Also try and keep it as short as possible to avoid signal degredation.

    By the way, a more expensive cable IS better, as long as its the right type.

    But then im a cable fiend :devil:

    Have a look here to get an idea:

    http://www.pacificcable.com/DVI.htm#DVI-D_Single_Link

    This is good too, for high end cables:

    http://www.monstercable.com/home_av/video_cables//HDTV_digital.asp

    and one more:

    http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/DVI_monitor_cables.html

    So many cables :zonked: heaven!
     
  6. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,471
    Steve O - you can input 1024x768 @ 60 Hz and let your Display down convert it to fit on the 852x480 display.

    I have to say that due to the lowish resolution of your display its always going to be a compromise when running PC software - everything will look soft and loose detail.

    I'd probably in this instance stick with the cable supplied with the DVI board.

    AML - so an expensive cable will make a difference 'if its a good one'. Is that not the same as 'more expensive is not a guarantee you'll see an improvement'.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  7. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    Heheh. Personaly i dont mind spending 100 quid on a cable! Why? coz I can!

    Its really just peace of mind that you are using the best possible cable!

    I know that what you say is true, but as a general rule, a more expensive cable tends to be better than a cheaper cable.

    Keep it simple!
     
  8. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32

    I would have thought a lindy dvi cable would fit the bill nicely. Check them out at www.lindy.co.uk
     
  9. steve0

    steve0
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +32
    Thanks for everyones help, you all been great :blush:

    I better get shopping.

    One question How can I get my panny running at 1024 by 768
    Thanks again
     
  10. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,471
    steve0

    Set the PC to output 1024x768@60Hz.

    Best regards

    Joe

    PS Samir - you cant assume anything with DVI cables! and again I don't see anything Lindy offer that's going to improve on the DVI cable provided by Panasonic.
     

Share This Page

Loading...